We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel; decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our second floor room was quiet and clean. The restaurant breakfast was good. The margarita was good. The desk staff was very helpful. They picked up and dropped off from Benton airport, which was very nice and convenient. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 206dvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are thrilled that you noticed how helpful and welcoming our Team is - we will be sure to share your feedback with them! Our goal is to create a hotel our guests love, home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future should you find yourself in Redding, California again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, nice clean room but the in-room amenities are not as good as the Holiday Inn Express. There's no microwave. A complimentary bottle of water is for membership only. The slow Wi-Fi was very annoying. We stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Portland-Jentzen Beach, and in Tacoma,WA, and we were impressed with the in-room amenities and the hotel services (fast wi-fi, good size refrigerator, microwave, big screen tv, comprementary bottles of water and breakfast). We think the Holiday Inn Express gave us more than this Holiday Inn provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aicontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear aicontact,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided and for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We favor the Holiday Inn chain because they have consistent quality. The Holiday Inn in Redding is located on the main hotel row on Hilltop, with restaurants all around. The rooms were well appointed, roomy and comfortable. We had drinks at the lounge area (they have a small but complete list of drinks and you get 1 free). We also had breakfast (not included in price) and 1 dinner in their restaurant, which had a small but creative menu for all meals. Service was good. We did have 2 problems. The person checking us in must have been a trainee because she made several mistakes and took forever and needed help. She gave us keys to one room that was occupied, which was embarrassing. Also, we need my mother's room on a level without stairs and there were stairs everywhere. Rooms were quiet and had refrigerators and microwaves.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problems, you will have at least a few stairs everywhere.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradocowgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and your feedback will be shared with our staff. We hope during your next stay in Redding, you come and visit us again at the Holiday Inn & Convention Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just checked in at the hotel.

The hotel is located next to a busy road where all other motels and hotels are located. The view from the room is a parking lot. The swimming pool is outdoors next to the parking lot, front entrance and the busy road - guess it depends from which angle you take the picture.

I am a Platinum member and one of the perks of traveling a lot while staying in the same hotel chain are the room upgrades. Of course they are subject to availability.

At check-in the clerk stunned me: "at this hotel we don't do upgrades. we are independently owned". I know IHG / Holiday Inn is a franchise. But not respecting a loyalty program to the most loyal guests is stunning. What's the purpose of being part of a chain then? This should be reported to IHG.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Maarten V,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Inn is very convenient to highway 5, several shopping malls with various options of restaurants, and some attractions in Redding, such as Turtle Bay Exploration Park, Sundial Bridge, and Shasta Dam. The lobby and the room were clean, staff was friendly, and there is plenty space for parking. However, the hallway was so long to get into the room on the back of the Inn, the ceiling of the hallway appears to be low, and the air-conditioner in the room was very noisy. Considering of its relatively higher daily rate relative to other Inns/Motels nearby, there is definitely a room to improve.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripReviewer290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear TripReviewer290,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the AC unit has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at this Hotel in July 2013. It was very nice. They gave us a welcome pack that contained water and other things due to us using our membership rewards. We also got a free drink of our choice from the bar. The room was nice and spacious. Everything was clean. We ordered room service and our food was delivered quickly and was very good. It is a very well maintained facility. Lots of parking. Easy access to I-5.
There were only one issue. Our air conditioner was acting up. It would work for a bit then quit. We probably should have contacted the front desk but we put up with it. Also one other disappointment was that breakfast is not included. They have a restaurant that you can buy from but with most hotels we have been staying in, there has at least been a free breakfast of some sort.
I would give this hotel an 8 out of 10. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssheilmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for choosing the Holiday & Convention Center Redding and for taking the time write a review. We strive to make each and every stay exceed expectations. However, we were so sorry to hear of the disappointment of your specifically the air conditioner. We were so sorry to hear of the breakfast experience you had, this will be looked into. Your feedback is important to us and it offers us an opportunity to improve our services and amenities we offer guests. We would like to thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Redding and we will continue to strive to improve and exceed expectations for our guests. We hope next time you are traveling in the area we will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good proximity to freeway and shopping malls are a mere 5 minute away. The property is quiet and the rooms are updated and clean. I liked the easy access to your vehicle from your rooms.

Check-in was a snap and the front office staff were efficient and friendly. They even welcomed us with water, chocolate and some peanuts. They even threw in a free beverage coupon at the hotel bar. A nice touch for IHG members.

This is a great hotel for guests looking to visit local venues like Sundial Park and Lake Shasta.

Our only complaint was that the pool closes at 10pm and then doesn't open until 10am. When it is summer and the weather is hot in Redding they should extend the hours in the evening and open earlier for those who would like a little dip before they head out for days activities.

We would definitely stay here again because the pricing is fair and reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wavefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review! We were so pleased to hear that Holiday Inn was your hotel choice while traveling on vacation. Customer service, quality and comfort are a priority for our guests, and our staff strives to exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you again soon, whether traveling to Redding on business or pleasure, and thank you again for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 37 in Redding
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1900 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $119 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center in Redding, California. Our hotel is your gateway to Northern California's Shasta Cascade Region, an outdoor wonderland of green mountains and forests, and provides easy access to local features including Shasta Lake, Whiskeytown Lake, Lassen Volcanic National Park, McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park, Castle Crags Wilderness, Shasta-Trinity National Forest and the Pacific Crest Trail. Conveniently located, the Holiday Inn Hotel is nearby Redding s own attractions, such as Turtle Bay Exploration Park, Sundial Bridge, Big League Dreams Sports Park and Waterworks Park.The Convention Center at the Holiday Inn Hotel is the perfect setting for business meetings, reunions, weddings, luncheons, trade shows, anniversary parties and more! In-house catering is available and provided by our on site restaurant, the Braided Mane, 2009 Golden Plate award winner!Business and leisure travelers will appreciate that this Redding hotel offers free wireless high-speed Internet access in all of the public areas. If you are without your own computer, the Holiday Inn hotel has a public computer available to all guests. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in our full-service restaurant or, at the end of your day, relax comfortably in the hotel lounge or by the outdoor pool. We care for your comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Redding Hotel Redding
Redding Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing