We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FLEA INFESTED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Redding South
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FLEA INFESTED!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I've stayed @ this location prior & was pleased. Not any longer! The woman I made the reservations with said I'd have 2 beds (for my teenage son & 1 for meI). Arrived & they only had a room w/1 bed. The lady @ the front desk was friendly. I found hair on my pillow, between the sheets & on the towel in the bathroom. I thought it was odd, but didn't think twice about the flea that jumped on my arm before bed. Turned off A/C & went to bed. Itched most of the night. In the morning walked to the bathroom-feet started to feel pinching only to find 10-20 fleas on each foot! The warm air apparently woke up the flea infested room. Packed up quickly & told the front desk. Was offered 50% of next stay at that location. Not Happy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    31
    8
    15
See reviews for
30
31
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a typical Motel 6: no worse and not better really. The room was clean and everything worked fine in the room. Front counter staff was friendly and the check-in clerk even called me up 30 minutes after I settled in to see if everything was OK. This motel is right on Interstate 5 so it is noisy. They set me up with a room facing west (away from the freeway) and it was quiet. Other rooms on the east side may be noisy. The only problem was that the bed was pretty bad. You could feel every spring in the mattress. The mattress pad may have been queen-size at one time but at shrunk to some odd size somewhere between twin and full. I’d say that the bed was my only problem.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from I-5 for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Rambler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coastal Forest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is the WORST Motel 6 I've ever seen! As soon as I walked into the room, I noticed the carpet was not clean enough for me to walk on without shoes. Then, I sat on the bed. HARD AS A ROCK!! The mattress was so worn that you could actually see the indentations from bodies through the coverings. I looked at 2 other rooms, called a few other motels, got a great deal at the Super 8 and moved!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolondaAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Redding hotels

Camas, WA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I were in transit from Portland to San Diego and decided to find an inexpensive place to get some rest along the way. I checked out the lower priced properties listed here on TripAdvisor and thought the Motel 6 Redding South would be ok for one night. BIG mistake! The A/C did not work properly... when I called to report it the girl at the desk told me hod to fuss with the knob until the cold air would come on... even then it would only stay on a few minutes at a time! They advertise WiFi but charge you for it... a nominal fee but we could not get a signal in the room! I had to sit right next to the window to get one bar! BUT THAT IS NOT THE WORST OF IT!!! The rooms are filled with fleas! I found them even on my towel... so gross! Do yourself a favor.... add the money you would spend in flea shampoo and disinfectant to the price of this motel... and get yourself a much better room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candiedshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Impressed with this budget motel. The room was basic but very clean and tidy. Lots of hot water, wifi worked well (was a fee of around $3 per day) The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Only down side was a very hard lumpy mattress which we didn't sleep too well on, but otherwise very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We were in Redding for just one night, and needed a place to stay before venturing onto Reno, NV. We had never been to Redding, so we knew nothing about the town, where to stay, etc. This hotel was right off the freeway, but make sure to have your GPS or directions on standby because there isn't a sign from the freeway letting you know where it is. We got in much later than we expected, so thankfully there was still ample parking, our check-in was very quick and we were given a room on the 2nd floor, which we preferred. The room was fine; we found the ashtray with the no smoking sticker on the bottom rather funny. The complex was quiet which was nice because we needed to get an early start.

There were two reasons why we didn't give the hotel an "excellent" rating. One, we wanted a wake-up call, and when I lifted up the phone to call the front desk, there was no dial tone. The phone didn't work. And I looked to see if the phone was plugged into the wall, it was, but the blue/red wires were exposed on the phone cord. Not that big of a deal because we had cel phones with an alarm on it.

And two, I guess we've gotten so used to seeing free wi-fi at pretty much everywhere you go nowadays that we just assumed this would be the case here. Not so much; here they charged $2.99 for an access code to use their wi-fi. Three bucks didn't kill us, but it was one more trip down to the front desk that I had to take when I had already gotten comfortable in our room.

I have to remember that Motel 6 is like Southwest Airlines - no frills or any fancy stuff - just the basics. We did get what they specialize in - a clean, comfortable, quiet room which we felt safe in. There wasn't any mold in our bathroom, the bed was fine (I wasn't expecting a Sleep Number bed), we had a good night's sleep, our rental car was still in the parking lot the next morning which is always a good sign (though crime wasn't something I was particularly worried about in this town), check out was quick the next morning and we were on our way.

If we were going to stay for a few days, we probably would have chosen a slightly fancier place. But for a one night's stay, for the price, you can't get much better than this. Also, about 5-6 minutes away headed south on Cypress, there's this restaurant called Perko's - great breakfast!! Or you could always opt for the Denny's which is right next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SynthPopLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The room was fairly clean but I did notice some mildew around the tub. The beds were as hard as rocks. Did not make for a good nights sleep. The room served its purpose. We were out first thing in the morning and on the road again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_be_camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redding
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#12 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Redding South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redding South

Property: Motel 6 Redding South
Address: 2385 Bechelli Ln, I-5 at Cypress Avenue, Redding, CA 96002-0120
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redding South 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Redding South is located within walking distance to area restaurants. Shopping is within 2 miles. Casino entertainment is only 6 miles. Explore Lake Shasta Caverns 20 miles. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Redding South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Redding South Hotel Redding
Motel Six Redding
Redding Motel 6
Redding Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing