We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Redding
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank luvlelu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Redding
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fine for the price.

This is an older facility adjacent to the freeway.

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

Apparently a review is not acceptable unless it is more than two lines long.

What ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank BOB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
LAKEPORT
1
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am filling this out for 2 staff who stayed at your hotel. They said it was very ghetto, with what seemed like drugs and prostitute activities going on. They also said it wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

the location was convenient for our conference. the room was adequate and clean. things were a little shabby on the edges, that is to say a little warn. the breakfast was less than expected (coffee was weak, fruit was the lowest grade).

I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Needed a room to share with a sibling while visiting our father in the hospital in Redding. The location was good for us, as was the price. The a/c did a good job of keeping the area of the room with the sink cool, but was not so good on the area where the beds are. There was no housekeeping during our stay. The TV seems to be whatever they can get from Chico, more snow than Mt. Shasta had. The in-coffee was slightly better than not having coffee. There is a great bagel place across the street, however. Consider bring your own towel. The shower surround was cracked and you need both hands to pullout the knob to get the water on. The toilet seems to be from an elementary school.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MICHAEL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not a bad nights sleep. Clean, and to the point. Nothing extra (except that one of the towels in the bathroom was folded like a really fancy place). No complaints. (Actually, I was pleased by one thing in particular, and it was an act omission, not commission. I didn't find any porn on the TV, which given that I was traveling with my daughter, was especially appreciated.)
The "breakfast" was only so-so. The room was actually a bit depressing, and the food was too, but heck, it was "free". I'd go back, if I didn't want to spring for a nicer place that might run me an extra 20$.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank STEVE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay. The hotel was listed in the travel books that are supplied at rest stops. I was just looking for a place to take a bath and sleep, and then get up early and leave. I didn't try the breakfast. The motel was obviously old, but clean. The price was low so I liked that, but the bed was truly awful--soft and slopping, and it is the reason I would probably not choose that hotel again. I travel to California, and or Arizona once, and sometimes more often during the year. I liked having a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
2.3 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#20 of 37 in Redding
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
4.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#25 of 37 in Redding
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#23 of 37 in Redding
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 37 in Redding
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Redding South
Motel 6 Redding South
#24 of 37 in Redding
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Redding

Address: 2731 Bechelli Ln, Redding, CA 96002-1924
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Price Range: $62 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Vagabond Inn Redding, guests can opt for twin, queen, or king beds. They may request pet-friendly rooms for an additional charge. The hotel provides free, high speed WiFi, free parking, and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. Other on-site amenities of the Vagabond Inn Redding include an outdoor pool and self-serve laundry facilities. The hotel is one hour north of the city of Chico. It lies about midway between Arcata, CA (to the west) and the California-Nevada border (to the east). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express - Redding Hotel Redding
Howard Johnson Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing