We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2005

We enjoyed a very nice stay overnight on our way to Seattle. Comfortable room, though facing the freeway. Windows are double paned which blunted the noise. Main complaint is the lack of outlets in the room. We had two cell phones to charge and ended up having to unplug lamps to charge the phones. Free wireless internet was a very nice benefit. Free breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swirlinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2005

Great hotel - comfortable rooms. Great restaurant - C.R. Gibbs - lots of locals eat/drink here which is always a good sign. Good location. Good maid service. Very nice front desk staff. Highly recommend this place for a good anchor place for Shasta Lake area.

1  Thank KelleyfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
13
Reviewed June 16, 2003

It's surprising to see that some other posters had such a negative experience at this Best Western. I have stayed here a few times as a pass though up to Oregon and have always had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, well kept, and the staff is always friendly. I asked to switch rooms once because I didn't want a ground level floor and it was no problem.One thing that I especially enjoyed about this locatin is the EXCELLENT Restaurant located at the property(along with an upscale bar). We had a great time chatting it up with the locals here which made our pass though more enjoyable. Also I don't recall there being any rooms facing the freeway as one poster mentioned so I'm wondering if they have the right BW? If there are rooms facing the freeway then they must only be a few way in the back of the property.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
13
Reviewed May 28, 2003

The Best Western Hilltop Inn is located very close to a very busy Highway 5. It is a motel style building with clean but small rooms. Beware that some rooms are extremely noisy due to the close proximity of the highway. Windows facing the highway have double glass but the rooms are still very noisy. Forget about restful sleep at night - noisy road, noisy air-condition unit and the lack of fresh air will cause you headache - even watching TV is difficult.When you make a reservation, the staff does not tell you that they put you in the room facing the highway. They are very unpleasant when you ask for a room change even before you take the key. If you do not make reservation ahead of time you are in a better bargain position, there are many hotels around this area, Oxford Suites and Comfort Inn being located further away from the Highway 5 - you can always refuse to rent the room. You do not have this option, however, when you book the room in advance - you have to suffer and pay big.I was very surprised by the unpleasant and inconsiderate treatment of their staff. You can tell from the parking lot at night that many rooms are empty but they still claim they are full and they cannot do nothing about your room. They try to sell you more expensive rooms instead. People from the Best Western Hilltop Inn destroyed our vacation. If you want to have a good time in Redding try to avoid this hotel. It seems to me that the bad culture and poor customer service is their biggest problem not the highway noise.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2003

Based on the reviews we booked this property. The room we were given faced Interstate 5 and quite noisy. Having gone through their reservation service, the operators don't tell you that the room will face the freeway. We complained that it would be difficult to sleep and asked if we could get a refund. After some groveling, they upgraded us to a quieter room which we were pleased, so we thought.That evening the shower drain plugged up and after a long day, a second problem was frustrating. My wife called to talk to the night manager that turned into a 20 minute discussion. They resolved the issue and he told her when we checked out "there would be no questions asked" and he would make sure of that. I turned in the key the next morning and the first thing the clerk asks me is "what was the problem?"We learn a lot by the manner in which difficulties are handled. Stays can be uneventful while others just are problematic. Sadly, the staff at this property had poor communication skills in resolving our situation. At $110 for a night, it was lacking regardless of the room amenities.

2  Thank peekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2003

We have stayed here twice. This place is about halfway between our home in Orange County and my wife's sister's place near Portland, Oregon. Both times we arrived after struggling with obnoxious winter weather during an overlong road trip. We were extemely grateful to have a warm room with a good bed with a convenient breakfast. Nothing at all to complain about. Location is near the freeway and easy to find.

5  Thank Yerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2002

My family have stayed twice at this Inn, 2000 & 2001. I just made reservations for next week (04/2002). Excellent maintained property. The rooms are very nice and more importantly, very quiet. The included continental breakfast is almost worth the price of the room. Very friendly, helpful staff.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,379 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn

Address: 2300 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002-0508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Redding
#6 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#7 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $109 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique AAA three-diamond hotel is located within the heart of one of the country's most beautiful regions - the Shasta Cascade. Our 114 upscale guestrooms have been tastefully decorated, offering either King, 2 Queens,or King with Sofabed. Hotel amenities: Free full hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, free business center, free local & toll free phone access,fitness center, complimentary DVD rentals, free USA Today newspaper Mon-Fri, outdoor heated pool & spa, in-room refrigerator, guest laundry, ample parking and conference room banquet facilities hold up to 100 persons. Relax and enjoy our on-site award winning restaurant C.R. Gibbs American Grille - lunch 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., 'Nutzy Hour' 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., dinner 4:00 p.m. to closing. Enjoy dining on our outside patio. Only blocks away from high end shopping, specialty shops and two miles from California's newest destination icon the Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay Museum and Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hilltop Hotel Redding
Best Western Hilltop Hotel
Best Western Redding
Redding Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing