We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks and Service”

Market Street Steakhouse
Ranked #39 of 309 Restaurants in Redding
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Weed, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Service”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is our second time to the restaurant and it only gets better with time! The Kobi Steak was outstanding as was the service. All the employees are motivated and caring. Even the manager, Ken, is bussing tables and pouring water. Keep up the great work guys-we will be back for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    7
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cascade Theatre Dinner”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very close when going to a performance at the Cascade. Food is good, pricy and it is difficult to get a cocktail. We gave ourselves 2 hours prior to show but with the slow service we just made it for curtain call.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drtdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
“Lobster to die for”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is by far our favorite restaurant in Redding. Yes it's pricey, but you get what you pay for. We have been there several times, and have yet to be disappointed by any aspect. The only thing that comes close to negative, it the noise level...but it is to be expected - it is a steakhouse after all, not "elegant dining"...I have personally had several different steaks, but my all time favorite it the champagne poached lobster with crabmeat...just a little bit of heaven on a plate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michimo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but over priced”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here with mixed results. The food was very good with lots of choices, but considerably over priced. The drinks were way out of line. We asked our waitress for the price of a Grey Goose martini and was told $10. After dinner and the bill came we noticed the martini's were $12 instead of $10. When challenged, she told us that she had said $10-$12. She had not told us that, because I would have asked here to clarify what the exact cost was. View 202 charges $9 for the same drink. It was not worth $3 more and we would have had something else. Won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went to Market Street Steakhouse for the first time with friends on a Friday night. Sadly, it will be our last visit.
We had reservations & were promptly seated. However, it was quite a wait for anyone to greet us, bring water, etc. We started with a cocktail. I ordered a Mojito, as I was told by others the restaurant is well know for them. I have had good Mojito's but this one was not. The Server even stated "it is good, we use real mint leaves". They did, but that's where the joy ended.
All four in our party ordered steaks, NY Strip, Filet, etc. Like the sauce & topping options, however, none of us were thrilled by our entrees. Average food. Wanted to love it, we just didn't. Even the sides were non impressive. Starter salad was poor. Creme Brûlée watery, list goes on......

There is so much potential for improvement at this establishment. The ambiance could be upgraded for a true upscale experience. Service could definitely improve. Seems like they are trying, but falling short. There are much better options in Redding for half the price. Our group came willing to pay for a fantastic meal. Paid a high price for mediocre food & service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Street Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Market Street Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing