We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!”

America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The worst service I've ever had! Argued with the manager about the policy when I originally booked it on booking.com. It stated no cancellation fees and full breakfast...not true. You have to cancel 3 days prior...a little hard to do when you book it 3 days before your stay. We decided we may as well stay since I couldn't cancel and it was charged on my account already. All I wanted was the room key... he then argued that he didn't have a room for us... ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!!!! Oh wait... there were only 3 cars in the entire parking lot of approx 20+ units. After arguing for 15 minutes he finally gave me the dang key to our room. I will never book online with booking.com or stay at America's Best ever again! The breakfast ended up being bite size muffins, ripe bananas, stale cereal, and orange juice. Booking.com told me that the hotel chain was the only one who could cancel our stay without penalty and called them directly.... way to be true to your advertising online.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel by chance and I am glad we found this gem. The lady at the front desk is very helpful and sweet. The real reason I gave this place such high marks was the cleanliness. Spotless another reviewer said and it is true. From the carpets to the bathroom, phenomenal. I will highly recommend this hotel in the future. Stop your search and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I were traveling and visiting Lassen National Park and seeing sights around Redding. We spent two days at this motel. I chose it because of the price and the ratings. This motel was extremely clean, quiet, and well run. It's location was excellent for what we wanted to do. The room had very comfortable beds, a mini refrigerator, and free Wi-Fi. They offered free breakfast, but it was very basic (cold cereal and mini-muffins) and you had to eat it in your room since the office did not have room for tables. The only other negative that came to mind is that the room did not have any tissues. You don't think about this much and take it for granted, but we really missed having tissues available. We would definitely stay here again if we come to the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

First time staying in America's Best Value. This was a new motel that was on excellent condition. Very clean rooms and well equipped. No frills, continental breakfast let a lot to be desired. No much food. Owners were very knowledge able about the area an attractions. I would definitely stay here again especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We decided to stay here for the night on our way to Sacramento for a wedding (from Seattle). I found this place from TripAdvisor and all the rave reviews and price, booked it. For the price, it was a nice value in comparison to the other hotels in Redding.

When we checked in it was quick, but I have to agree with another reviewer, that the staff was not very friendly and it did smell like curry in the entire small room (I take it the managers/owners live on site). Besides the unfriendly welcome, the room was nice. Looked updated, but still older (carpets, bathroom area). Large room though. We were in a room with a king bed.

Wifi was spotty, not great but not awful. Your basic hotel. Breakfast was cereal, small muffins and juice, coffee and milk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place doesn't look like anything fancy but the rooms are spotlessly clean, the bed is very comfortable, the air conditioner is quiet and works very well, and it is located near a residential neighborhood away from the noise of the freeway traffic. I have made two trips this summer between Washington and California and I have stayed at places that cost two or even three times as much as what I paid here and were not as comfortable. The furniture and the carpet appears to be new, everything was freshly painted and spotlessly clean including the parking lot which has just been resealed and re-striped. Overall I would rate this ABVI as a 10 out of 10 and is by far the most enjoyable stay I have had this summer. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Redding California.

Room Tip: The room I had( #124) was completely refurbished so I assume the rest of them have been also since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'm quite impressed with this ABVI like new clean room with a comfortable bed, fridge, microwave and good a/c and internet. This is a great value compared to what others in Redding want. Last time we stayed at a major chain and paid twice as much and it wasn't as good as here. Quiet location but close to restaurants and shopping. The only minor complaint is the breakfast items are minimal. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.8 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#23 of 36 in Redding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 533 N Market St, Redding, CA 96003-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your America's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Redding
Value Motel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing