We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Basics Missing”

Economy Inn Redding
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Economy Inn Redding
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some Basics Missing”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

There are some positives - the bathroom has been redone and the A/C worked better than most. Additionally the receptionist was one of the most pleasant I have encountered. However, there are some problems - the toilet will not flush toilet paper, there is no hot water in the bathroom sink (fortunately the shower had hot water), there is no coffee maker and there is no ice machine on the premises. Most would consider all of these as basics even in a value accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tajikiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Other than the friendly staff, I am trying to understand where the positive reviews came from. The bathroom and closet doors would not shut all the way (awkward when trying to use the bathroom with someone else in the room), there was a huge fight at 3 am in the room next to us (which staff handled quickly after I called), and though the pool is being remodeled...if should not have garbage in it. Outlets in room are a foot from the ground making it tough for the hair dryer to reach my head without sitting down, stain on a chair, loud all night with people coming and going. Towels were old and frayed all around the edges. We stayed because it had the highest reviews of an inexpensive pet friendly hotel. Not at all impressed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Redding hotels

medford, or
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We made a last minute reservation when we realized that 12 hours on I-5 was enough. We called ahead and checked in after 11PM with outside temp about 5F. The desk person was more concerned about our comfort than any I've experienced including stays at New York's Waldorf & Houston Ritz Carlton. She knew we were tired and positioned our room away from any potential noise; had the room pre-heated; and came out to help us park and warn us about some slippery ice patches in the parking area. It was exactly what we needed: clean, quiet, accessible, and easy but certainly not a vacation destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Check6Medford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is an example of not judging a book by its' cover. It looks aged on the outside, on the inside the room I had was clean, and spotless. The front desk people were friendly, and considerate. They even recommended places to eat nearby. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Your not going to get a 5 star hotel for this price, but what you do get is a large room with ensuite, immaculately clean, king sized bed and wifi. Wifi is a bit patchy in the room, we had to step outside for good reception, but apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay there. Very friendly staff. There's a good Chinese restaurant over the road too. Worth the $50!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Str3tch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

No, this isn't the Ritz. But for budget conscious travelers it is a very good motel.

Been looking for a motel in Redding that (1) has friendly owners, (2) is reasonably priced, (3) has a nice clean room with the basic amenities and (4) is not filled with riff-raff tenants. This motel fits that bill like no others I've tried in Redding - and I've tried several motels.

A single room is $50 after tax. Owners are very accomodating. Fridge and microwave in the room with good wi-fi and cable selection. The non-smoking room actually smells like a non-smoking room.

The only downsides were that there was no in-room or at-office coffee and the room lighting could be much better. But I can work around those problems.

Next door is the Best Value Inn and Suites. I tried to check in there at 1pm but was turned away because it wasn't 3pm. No soup for him. Go to the Economy Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_S36669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was for the price. We booked through booking.com and the room with tax came to about 50$ (king bed & free wifi). From the outside the place looks just average at best. The room is small but has been recently updated. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The room had a fridge and microwave in a little aclove that is quite handy. They don't offer any breakfast and the pool was closed are the only negatives. The woman at the front desk was friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmbchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.8 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#23 of 36 in Redding
35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 36 in Redding
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#24 of 36 in Redding
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,532 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#26 of 36 in Redding
544 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn Redding

Property: Economy Inn Redding
Address: 525 N Market St, Redding, CA 96003-3611
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Economy Inn Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing