We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Delicious Prime Rib in Mid Week”
Review of Cattlemens

Cattlemens
Ranked #6 of 310 Restaurants in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Anderson, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious Prime Rib in Mid Week”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Decided to go for a meal on a Tuesday night as we had some business close by Cattleman's Steakhouse. Reception was friendly and welcoming as we walked through the front door. We were seated immediately and a helpful young waitress asked if we would like a drink or appetizer to start. The whole time we were there, we were taken care of like we were royalty. Maybe because it wasn't packed out, they were able to pay us so much attention, but, hey, no complaints here. Warm, delicious sourdough bread and fresh butter were whisked to our table, as was my ice cold Shock Top brew. We both ordered the petite prime rib ($20.00), with broccoli for husband and roasted butternut squash for me in lieu of potatoes. The meals were wonderful! The flavor of the Prime rib was divine and cooked to absolute perfection. I had medium well and my spouse requested med. rare. One of the best meals we've had in a long time. Our waitress, Ashley, looked like she may have been in training, as she had a woman following her from table to table, offering suggestions. We were impressed by her demeanor. She was efficient, friendly and professional. Will go back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1horseshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    143
    53
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Disappointed!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Cattleman's for a nice dinner out last Sunday and we were so disappointed! When you spend $60 on a steak dinner for 2 you expect to enjoy the food but the steaks were poor quality and the mashed potatoes were pasty and sticky like they had been left in the water far too long. The highlights of our whole dinner were the homemade ranch dressing (though the salad was nothing special) and the shoestring onions. Definitely not worth the money! We have had far better steak dinners for less than half the cost at Duke's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Weekenders530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just A Short Walk from Best Western Hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cattleman's Steakhouse delivers a consistently quality meal for the price. Enjoyed dinner here on our second night in Redding andd found the service and food quality to be very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Come hungry. Next to LaQuinta”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The quantity of food resembles that of Claimjumper restaurants...but a bit better in quality. I had the "Cowboy" steak dinner...and got it medium rare. Keep in mind that the weight of the steaks are bone in typically. With that said, a medium rare will be rare/raw along the bone. Just FYI.

I left completely full. Their entire menu looks good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XplorerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was a little expensive but worth it. the portion szes were huge. The food tasted awesome! The staff was friendly. Our waitress was right on everything. The building was neat and the booths were very private. There is a lounge off the lobby if you prefer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paulszedshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cattlemens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing