We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so dinner, large no smoking slot machine room with separate entrance”
Review of Win-River Casino

Win-River Casino
Ranked #10 of 55 things to do in Redding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open round the clock, this Native American gaming facility features 751 slot machines, table games, bingo, video slots, a card room, restaurant and live entertainment.
Klamath Falls Or
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So so dinner, large no smoking slot machine room with separate entrance”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Had been at the bar/restaurant overlooking the river about 2 years ago, and the food was better then. This time, the Indian taco on frybread had very tough bread and chili that was old and thick. Husband had special of the day, a chicken wrap, and it was also so so. Great on-tap microbrew selection with happy hour 4 - 6.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    33
    23
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Point, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Save your money, go anywhere else”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stopped to play at WinRiver many times. Now that the hotel opened up, it seemed a good half way point to spend the night on our way to Sac. A free room voucher for 1 night made it even more appealing. We got a late start thanks to a business emergency so we ended up gambling until about midnight. Not having to be anywhere early today we slept in. Promptly at 11:10 we got a phone call from the front desk reminding us that check out was at 11. I explained we were just finishing getting ready. About 10-15 minutes later they followed up with a knock on the door! We have stayed at many hotels & casinos, I have never been treated like that. You couldn't pay me to go back!

Very poor customer service.

Also, we hadn't eaten dinner so we tried the pizza at their late night cafe. Neither pizza was completely cooked, they were lousy.

It would have been maybe bearable if their machines paid. They score zero in that category also.

Save your money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JLynne_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not customer friendly”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Previous to the rebuilding of the facility we visited the casino normally twice a month. The management has taken all the machines out that most of the customers like to play [ie the classic slots] previously you could play two or three credits with a chance to win maximum payout. Now with all the silly video game you must pay as much a five dollars a spin to have a chance for the maximum payout. My wife and I have made the decision to travel farther to a casino where they still cater to the customers. One such casino is Feather Falls in the Chico
area. Reno casinos also offer some of the classics. If you go to Win River you may as well give them your money at the door and save the time spent there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

You know how you look at places when you're young? They seem so much better than they actually are. Who knows? Win river might have BEEN an okay establishment at one point but not now. I was there for my birthday. A belated meal that was more inspired by my family that preferred to gamble. The restaurant wad empty and the server was awesome but it took forever to get my food, even longer to get the dessert. Where you eat is located right off the smoking section so if you have a problem with smoking, definitely pass on eating here. The influx of people has definitely gotten around to the lower classes of Redding. A lot of sketchy people around all times of the day, so lock your car and don't let your eyes off your belongings. As for the play, it varies and depends on what you sit down at. It's a casino, expect to walk away with some loss. If you can control yourself you might manage to keep your earnings. Don't let the pretty bells and whistles allow you to blame anyone but yourself. Overall, don't waste your time on this smelly and severely overrated environment.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Years Eve party”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am no casino expert but I think for the rpice and the hype the presentation and food could have been better. The live music was a real disappointment. There was a bit of dishonesty on the promotion because they said there would be 3 areas of music to choose from. This was not so.
The servers were very pleasant, whoever. Iguess one has to consider the culture of the local citiznry, but still the music was awful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank juneChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Win-River Casino also viewed

 

Been to Win-River Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing