We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new hotel, great pool but a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel was clean and what you would expect for a Hilton Garden Inn. The pool was gorgeous with a very warm hot tub! The workout room is nice too. The hotel has a restaurant and we were bummed to find out we had to pay for breakfast. For around $149.00 we figured it would come with continental. With 6 of us it would have been about $50.00 for breakfast! The location seemed very safe out of the busy area of town. There were a lot of business travelers. We stopped to just take a break for 2 days from driving. The kids loved the pool and the nearby waterpark. I loved the new Trader Joe's store a few miles away! The girls were very friendly at the front desk and helpful in finding restaurants and things to do. We knew nothing of Redding and were happy to have a clean safe place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskafamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 708 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here on our way from Seattle to Los Angeles, as this was approximately the mid-way point between the two. Having driven all day, we were checked in fast and friendly, and enjoyed the beautiful view of the river from our room. The beds were comfortable (not hard), the water pressure was good in the shower, the room was clean, and best of all, we never heard a door slam or any noise whatsoever. The fridge in the room was also a welcome bonus. In the morning, our waitress at breakfast was friendly, and the selection of food was pretty good. Overall, it was a good experience and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn was a pleasant surprise for us. The rooms were clean and spacious, with the added bonus of a microwave and refrigerator. We have made the trip from Seattle to LA many times down the I-5 corridor and this is one of the nicest places we've discovered. Plus we got a great rate on Priceline. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel is quite expensive. It looks pretty and all, but serivice is poor and the side door of the hotel as an alternate entrance/exit, slams quite loud all hours of the night. We had to pick up some ear plugs just to get a quiet sleep. My brother and sister-in-law stayed there as well and had the same problem as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank country_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I go to Redding fairly frequently because I enjoy the many outdoor activities in the area, including lots of hikes to some very nice waterfalls in the area. I've stayed at many of the hotels in the area, and I have to say that this is the nicest (beats out the Hampton Inn by a bit). The location was a bit of a surprise. It's a couple of miles away from where most of the city's other hotels are located on or along Hilltop Drive. The minus is that you have to drive if you want to go to any restaurants other than the one in the hotel. The plus is that it's quite quiet, and if you get an even-numbered room you get a view of the river and the mountains (quite pretty in the Spring, and probably the Winter as well). You won't get that in any of the Hilltop Drive accommodations.
The staff were very professional, and always greeted me by name. The rooms were large, spotless, and come with the high-tech ergonomic HGI ergonomic chairs. Breakfasts, unlike in the Hampton Inn, are made-to-order and have a large variety of items to choose from (at least 10 omelet ingredients). If you're not HHonors Gold or Platinum, though, you'll have to pay extra.
That being said, there were three things I didn't quite like. One was that the pool was very small. The other was that the gym was tiny and one of the three pieces of equipment wasn't working (when I go to Redding, it's for the hiking/outdoor opportunities, so I don't use the gym, however, so it didn't affect me). The third was that the TV, although flat-screened, wasn't high-def (maybe HD isn't available in Redding??).
I debated with myself for a while on whether these three items would make me rate the property with four dots instead of five. When it came down to it, though, I've stayed at quite a few hotels in Redding, and this one's now my favorite, so I felt I should give them the full 5 dots. It's a shame they're ranked below the Best Western Twin View, whose entry is full of one-time reviewers, which, to the trained eye, are obviously written by the property management itself.
If you're looking for a property in Redding and you would like to be within walking distance of a number of restaurants, by all means pick the Hampton Inn. If you want a nice, quiet room, perhaps with a view of the majestic Sacramento River and the Trinity Alps, this hotel is your best bet, especially if you have Hilton's Gold or Platinum status, and the cost of breakfast is therefore not a factor.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just off Interstate 5 and next to a gas station, this hotel is a good stop for a one night stay. There are not any other services in the immediate area, but there is a restaurant in the hotel which serves American fare, dinner prices are $10-$18, breakfast is $10.95 for a breakfast buffet, Rooms are comfortable with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, large screen TV, desk, and free high speed internet. It is what you expect from Hilton Garden Inns. I would recommend this hotel, and I don't often say that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillLearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We have stayed at Hilton Garden Inns in various locations around the county and pretty good experiences for the quality of the room and so on. So for a one night pass through Redding on the way home from a three week road trip, we figured the HGI was a good choice.

How wrong we were.

The room was clean and large and that's about as far as it goes for positive commentary. And it was because of the clean room that we give this two stars instead of one.

Cheaply appointed rooms and indifferent service from the staff.

Not to mention we paid a pretty hefty AAA rate for this room...$120ish...and for just a few bucks more we had spent two nights in another CA town in the prior two days of our trip at a wonderful, impeccably well run little (60 room) hotel that got every detail right. So admittedly HGI suffered by comparison here. BUT, this HGI is also a very, very poor representation of the brand and suggests both corporate and local management need to pay attention.

Were this our first intro to HGI as brand, we'd never stay at another one. In the spirit of pictures are more complete than words, we've posted some taken during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Redding

Address: 5050 Bechelli Ln, Redding, CA 96002-3539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#6 Business Hotel in Redding
#7 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $113 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn hotel overlooks the Sacramento River in Redding, CA. Our hotel provides complimentary WiFi, as well as complimentary airport shuttle services to and from the Redding Airport. Enjoy suites overlooking beautiful mountains, as well as other amenities that include: microwaves and refrigerators in every room, our on-site restaurant (bar/lounge), 24-Hour Pavilion Pantry, fitness room, outdoor pool (and whirlpool spa), meeting, 24-hour complimentary business center, meeting and event space, a multi-lingual staff and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Redding Hotel Redding
Redding Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing