We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Redding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Redding

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Gold River, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Redding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2006

I've stayed at most of the top 6 or 7 hotels in Redding and believe this one to be the best. It's only a couple years old and not showing much wear and tear. The staff is very friendly and honors my request for a river view room. I've stayed in the height of summer and in January and both times the room tempurature was comfortable. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms in excellent shape. The beds are soft, comfortable and pillows plentiful (but I wish there was something better than foam pillows.) The fitness center has a treadmill and ellipitical trainer(?) but if you like to run, get directions to the river trail (about 3 miles away.) The pool and jacuzzi are small, but certainly adequate. It's off the main drag on Hilltop where most of the other hotels are located, but in Redding, which when a traffic jam happens, it will be it's first, it only takes a three minutes to get anywhere in town.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikeandcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    185
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
174
183
41
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2005

Really nice hotel. Clean and a view of the river. There was some problems with the room service. They lost our order and our kids were starving for 2 hrs while we waited. They did comp the meal so I guess it was a wash.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

We stayed here for several days while visiting family. Though booked on Hilton site far in advance, room was not ready at check-in time. It is also a bit out of the way and over-priced for what you get. I know it's new - but we paid about $160 per night, which is ridiculous when you realize this is not much of an upgrade from a Holiday Inn.

The little kiosk in the lobby (in lieu of self service mini-bar or a lobby shop) is pretty much a joke, with everything being priced extremely high - we just went to the grocery store for snacks, etc.

We ate the breakfast buffet one morning and it was ok, again nothing above average.

I'd like to try a different property next visit, but there really isn't much to chose from.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekerr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2005

New hotel. Had a massive double suite - could have had a party for 30 people in it! Obviously, very comfortable. Free internet. Good shower head. Too bad the hot and pool weren't around back overlooking the Sacramento River instead of in front next to the parking lot overlooking the gas station.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillycmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2005

This facility is of relatively new construction, so you will enjoy the usual advantages that comes with that. There is one glaring design mistake, however: There's only one elevator and it was slow. One very nice convenience: there's a Shell gas station across the street. It's far enough away that what little noise from it, can't be heard in your room (and my room faced it).

I don't recall seeing a bellhop or a large number of staff so you should not expect the same level of assistance of say, a Ritz-Carlton. Not a problem for me, as I prefer to haul my own gear. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. The public areas were a bit small and in my opinion, located too close to each other (lounge, front desk, dining area, lobby). But they were all bright, airy, attractive, and well-maintained. And it was the first time in recent memory that I and my co-workers actually used a hotel lounge at night.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was good although it lacked a full range of flow controls for the shower head. New construction also means new things: instead of an ancient 1985 GE clock radio, there's a an excellent backlit, digital display with a stereo minijack line-input for your MP3 player. The in-room fridge and microwave worked fine. Free, wired high-speed in-room Internet (worked fine, no fussy setup, bring your own Cat 5 Ethernet cable).

The business center is more of a mixed bag. It is free and offers remote printing from your room. However, the center is a small room with two desks and one computer. The copier is not a "business-grade" model as it is slow and cannot staple or collate.

Breakfast was good although the $9.95 buffet selection was somewhat small; ordering a la carte is a better deal. I did not try their dinner as we got tips to a couple excellent restaurants in Redding: Hatch Cover, and Nello's Place.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#12 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Redding

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Address: 5050 Bechelli Ln, Redding, CA 96002-3539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#6 Business Hotel in Redding
#7 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn hotel overlooks the Sacramento River in Redding, CA. Our hotel provides complimentary WiFi, as well as complimentary airport shuttle services to and from the Redding Airport. Enjoy suites overlooking beautiful mountains, as well as other amenities that include: microwaves and refrigerators in every room, our on-site restaurant (bar/lounge), 24-Hour Pavilion Pantry, fitness room, outdoor pool (and whirlpool spa), meeting, 24-hour complimentary business center, meeting and event space, a multi-lingual staff and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Redding Hotel Redding
Redding Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing