We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park for the family, but way too expensive. Save your money.”

Turtle Bay Exploration Park
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 300 Acres of Fun! A hands-on natural science museum, arboretum & botanical gardens, live animals, summer wildlife show, year-round Parrot Playhouse (lorikeet aviary), walking trails, forestry center and ecology exhibits are all part of our expansive environmental and cultural museum complex.
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice park for the family, but way too expensive. Save your money.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The park is family friendly. great for small children. It's too expensive for what they offer. If you can spare the expense it's very nice and has a lot of interesting fish and some animals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 499silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    112
    32
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always a treat. The museum is host to lots of interesting exhibits and animal programs. You can also see the Sundial Bridge, the Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. Environmentally conscious, they have an abundance of education programs plus ones that allow you to buy a tree (or a whole grove), "adopt" an animal. Learn about natural resources and wildlife, stroll the bridge, enjoy the Sacramento River scenery. Never disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrumpy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Amazing fireworks, great park/museum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This area is the most delightful in Redding. The Sundial bridge is stunning, especially at night. The trails super. Turtle Bay is great for families and always has interesting and new exhibits. What a tremendous resource for the community. Not to be missed (and we did for the first 7 years of living here because we assumed they would be rather mundane after fireworks of DC, etc.) are the 4th of July fireworks. An amazing, spectacular program...the best you will see anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We love Turtle Bay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Every chance we get, we go to Turtle Bay, and we live a couple hours away. If you go, spend the $1 extra for the Lorikeet experience. It's fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frecklekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had company from out of town with small children. We went to the museum and saw an amazing Lego Exhibit, also, parrots, butterflies, Math Exhibit, so much to see! We spent three hours there, ate lunch outside of the gift shop, then went back to see more! Very fun for all ages and i highly recommend it. We went back later in the evening to walk the Sundial Bridge, beautiful sunset and cool over the Sacramento River!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank electricblue04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Exploration Park also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay Exploration Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing