We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a Comfort”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok for a Comfort”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

The hotel itself was showing its age a bit mildewy, but it was mostly clean, and the service was ok. it was fine for a one night stop along the road.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Age of building
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank squareboy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    81
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
68
72
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past couple of years (usually taking 5 rooms). It was always an okay place to stay on the way to Oregon.

This year we were there on the night of June 23 on the way to Oregon. On the morning of June 25th I called the hotel from Oregon to book our return rooms. The manager, took all my information and said if there was a problem he would call me right back. About 20 minutes later he called wanting to clarify the spellings of the last names with a comment if anything came up he would call me. No call.... we thought we were booked. Pulled into the Comfort Inn at 5:00PM on June 26, 2008, only to be told by the manager we had booked the rooms on July 3rd, not on June 26 and there were no rooms available now. The manager was very rude and kept saying the rooms were booked for July 3. Looking around we saw exactly why the rooms were booked that night.... for the fire department and that is okay if the manager would have just been truthful. We know the fire department needed to be in that area. When I asked the manager to call the other Comfort Inn in Red Bluff, he literally thew a hotel directory at me and told me to call them myself he was just "too busy". Because of his additude we will not be staying there again. The staff in Red Bluff were great and very helpful. So my opinion is go to Red Bluff.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Check-in was easy. The third floor room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was the standard Comfort Inn fare, served in a small but well-arranged room. Beds were quite comfortable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, and would not hesitate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel50S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We had the most awful experience at this establishment. It all started with very rude and non-responsive front desk staff. It continued to get worse as we had an item stolen from our room while gone for the day. Managements response to our concerns were far less the satisfactory. The rooms were outdated and unappealing. As often as we travel to Redding, we will NEVER stay at this establishment again.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Most everything
  • Tips/Secrets — You are getting what you pay for with this one.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We stayed at the Grand Manor Inn&Suites for one night on our way to the Redwood Parks on the Pacific coast. As it was the beginning of the 4th of July weekend, it was difficult to get a room in Redding, so we were happy to find a room at all. This place was a wonderful surprise, a great value for a decent rate.

The rooms were very large and clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast very good for a hotel under $100. Breakfast was open until 11am which made life easier for us. Wireless Internet worked fine and the kids enjoyed the pool.

Overall, it was an excellent stay and we would always choose the Grand Manor Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dl2hbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2016
We thank you for your response to the survey and your kind comments. This will encourage our staff to continue in our efforts to please all guests that stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Sherry Ferguson, Dir. of Sales
Comfort Inn
850 Mistletoe Lane
Redding, CA 96002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

The staff was friendly and awake to greet us when we checked in at 11:30p.m. The room was very spacious, clean, and had a balcony. For a one night stay we paid $80. There was plenty of parking and the lot and was well lit. After staying in a crappy, cramped, unclean, and unfriendly hotel where we spent $150 a night to staying here, I was extreamly happy with my stay at the Grand Manor Inn. This is a wonderful and inexpensive hotel I would stay here again next time I spent the night in Redding.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgcf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Date 11 Jan 05

Price $75 net
# of nights stayed1
Unexpected feesNone
# of bedsKing bed
Connecting roomNo

General
ParkingSufficent
Access to roomElevator – Stairs at each end of building
FloorsThree
Interior corridorsYes
Apparent safetyVery good
Neighborhood80’s commercial
Hwy accessVery good
RestaurantsGood selection nearby
Reception Very good – jeans & jacket attire

Room General
CleanlinessGood
Ambiance90’s minimal
Wall colorOff white
FurnishingsGood number
LightingWork desk is dimmer than bed light (60 watt)
Carpet
CleanlinessGood
ConditionGood
Work Desk/sizeYes/very good
Work desk chair heightAbout 4 inches too low
Closet spacealong side of dressing area washbasin
Room sizeVery good
Bed LinenAdequate quality – sheets fit mattress & stay tucked
Mattress qualityFirm
Odors/scentsNone
Ironing boardYes
TV
Channel selectionOutstanding
Screen qualityFair – on the dark side
Internet AccessDial up only
PhonebookYes – current
CoffeemakerYes – in dressing area on counter
Refrigerator
Bottled waterNo


Room temperature controlIn wall mounted – loud, push button control
Ambient noise
Floor aboveHeavy-footed occupants are annoying – will wake you up if asleep
HallwayVibrations when someone passes door…hall talk clearly audible
WallsPaper thin construction
OutsideGet back room – front side can hear major street vehicles
BathroomPrepare to get up with everyone else
AnimalsNo barking or meowing(inside or outside)
Bedbugs and/or fleasNo bites


Bathroom
Lighting3 incandescent bulbs - bright but harsh
Shower flowRetarded, but better than “Carmel mist” in some CA locations
Shower heightShoulder high for 6’ person
Counter spaceOK if microwave is removed – takes up ½ space end result is too little space
TowelsThin but sufficient in number
SizeOK
Bathroom fanVery loud
CupsPaper

Amenities
Hand soapCommerative stamp size
Bath soapStandard
ShampooNone
Mirror If 6’ tall upper half of face is not visible
Hair dryerYes - small


Continental BreakfastAbysmal
Fresh fruit No
Hot cerealNo
CoffeePump your own from urns
CommentEverything pre-wrapped in plastic – Unhealthy selection

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Rugbyrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,346 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 37 in Redding
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#14 of 37 in Redding
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 850 Mistletoe Ln, Redding, CA 96002-0268 (Formerly Grand Manor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® is scenically located in the shadows of Mount Shasta, surrounded by beautiful mountains and recreational areas. This Redding, CA hotel is also close to the Win-River Casino, the Redding Convention Center, the Redding Aquatic Center, and the landmark Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay Exploration Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Redding
Comfort Inn Redding
Redding Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing