We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place for afternoon walks or rides.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sacramento Rail Trail

Sacramento Rail Trail
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome place for afternoon walks or rides.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Sacramento Rail Trail is peaceful and relaxing, whether you walk or ride it. And it is easy for kids and adults alike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We got the map of bike trails for Redding ... let me say that they have a LOT of bike trails ... Kudos to you Redding!
However ... you might want to re-think the 'easy' designation of this trail. Easy can be a subjective term. My husband is a fairly active 55 year old dirt bike rider and did find it easy. But I'm a 60 year old 'pleasure biker' and it was NOT easy. Your first clue came on the trailhead at Keswick Dam which calls the hill 'heartrate hill'. I knew I was probably in trouble then. It's a LONG ride uphill. I made it (barely) most of the way ... had to walk some as well. When we got to the 'top' tho I figured it would level out. Not so much. It soon went way down in the valley again and I assume it would then have another long, long ride up again. At this point I had to turn back. It IS lovely up there ... I wish I could have done the whole thing but unless you're either young or really fit ... this is a grunt. It's all paved tho ... so maybe I'm just a wimp but even in lowest gear It's still ... not 'easy'.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obrien, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place to Go and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Sacramento River Trails is one of the true highlights of Redding. The trail is immaculately maintained and runs along the Sacramento River for several miles. Great place to walk, run or bike and enjoy the fabulous scenery. We love riding our bikes over the Sundial Bridges and all along this great trail

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPIIIShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
350 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Thank you Redding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a wonderful trail for biking. Redding is to be complemented for the great hiking and biking trails in the city. We returned to the city and spent several days visiting just to visit the great biking trails. We will return because of these trails. Some are easy, some are hard, but all are great. They are also good for hiking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelerGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long day trip to bike or hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Trail comes from keswick to Redding with lots of wildlife along the river trail. Dont forget the parks and the attrations there, along with Turtle Bay. Attrations in this area compliment each other

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tailsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacramento Rail Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sacramento Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing