We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huh?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Janya Thai Cusine

Janya Thai Cusine
Ranked #16 of 302 Restaurants in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redding, Ca
1 review
“Huh?”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I do not understand all the good ratings that this restaurant has received. Maybe we came on a bad night, but still...our dinner was not good at all. We are very big fans of Thai food and have gone to many Thai restaurants, this was the worst we have experienced. Tough noodles (how do you even do that?!). I don't mean aldente, I mean chewy and tough. One of the curries we had was boiled water with questionable chicken, absolutely flavorless except for an odd whang to the chicken, the other curry was ok. The best restaurant in Redding? I hope for all of you that this isn't the case, just a bunch of people who don't know Thai...but even then I'm confused because people should know bad food when they eat it and our experience was BAD. Maybe a bad night (shaking head in confusion.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank magistra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"A Must-Visit"”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We dined here while on a road trip from AZ to OR, using Tripadvisor for recommendations and were rewarded with authentic Thai food, delicous and beautifully presented. What a find! Our server was friendly and efficient. Best Thai we've had in years!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here because it was just down the road from our hotel. The place was small, but it was packed with people. The wait staff were all smiles even though they were very busy. The food arrived very quickly and it was Awesome! The portions were large and and had plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day and they were equally as good the next day. EAT HERE, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty Thai”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Thai food! The best Panang curry we've had outside of Thailand. Also love the Pineapple curry & Mango Sweet Sticky rice dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Climber777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Thai food.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had the best pad thai i have had in Redding. The chicken satay was very good. I wanted the beef satay, but it was not available. My companion had an excellent egg plant dish. We both brought plenty home. It was 12:30, and there was only a party of four other then the two of us. I do not understand. Location is not great, but the food and service was wonderful. I can't eat much due to a gastric bypass, and the waitress was concerned that i may not have liked it. Told her no problems.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ofbstanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janya Thai Cusine also viewed

 

Been to Janya Thai Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing