We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of Line for Lodging in this Price Range”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Top of Line for Lodging in this Price Range”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Owners have updated rooms throughout. We noted renovations made since our last stay two years ago. Rooms are clean as is pool. Staff very helpful. Good Mexican food in walking distance. Breakfast selections much larger than anticipated for motels of this type with service in two newly renovated rooms, making an attractive dining area. We will continue to stay at this property when we next make the trip we are on now.

Room Tip: Arrive early or reserve on Internet for lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    225
    85
    25
    6
See reviews for
131
169
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Thunderbird last night and four nights ago we stayed at the Hilton in Santa Rosa. Okay from outward appearance, the Thunderbird can't compare, but on every other level it meets or exceeds it. The rooms are recently remodeled, very nicely done. Very comfortable bed and our room had a microwave and a refrigerator (Hilton didn't have that). Flat screen tv. Continental breakfast (Hilton didn't have that either) Our room was very clean and everything inside was like new. If you're staying the night in Redding, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianduckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nothing special about it, just a great clean big room, excellent service, good breakfast, fun old but clean pool (not a lot of chlorine), and excellent value. Would definitely recommend it for other families/couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on our experience two years ago, we again reserved a room at this property, finding that additional improvements had been made. This year we obtained a room with one queen bed (our preference) and it was spacious. Shower stall and bathroom have been re-tiled. Swim pool water sparkled. We enjoy eating at a casual Mexican restaurant less than a block away and had a lovely vegetable omelet at Corbett's restaurant just a block away. Shampoo, conditioner, lotion are included, as well as, a fridge. Prices are truly inexpensive for area. We will stay here again the next time we take a similar trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

What looks like a run of the mill budget motel on the outside, truly is a gem on the inside! The rooms are well updated and very clean and the staff is very friendly. Smaller rooms, but with every amenity you might need. Amazing value for the cost!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santaquin, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This motel is in downtown Redding. Our stay was great except for the city noise, but that isn't the motel's fault. Our rooms backed up to a main street with the hospital 1/2 block away so there was the traffic noise and occasional sirens. The room and service were excellent. I recommend asking for a room on the office side away from the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on side where office is should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This older hotel has been completely renovated and was in excellent condition. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast did not have as many offerings as some other places but was adequate for our needs and the area they served in was very clean and neat. We felt we were getting a good deal for our money and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 37 in Redding
1,581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#14 of 37 in Redding
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing