We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Santaquin, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This motel is in downtown Redding. Our stay was great except for the city noise, but that isn't the motel's fault. Our rooms backed up to a main street with the hospital 1/2 block away so there was the traffic noise and occasional sirens. The room and service were excellent. I recommend asking for a room on the office side away from the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on side where office is should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    213
    81
    23
    6
See reviews for
123
160
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krum, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This older hotel has been completely renovated and was in excellent condition. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast did not have as many offerings as some other places but was adequate for our needs and the area they served in was very clean and neat. We felt we were getting a good deal for our money and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

From making the reservation to checking in to immediately sending me a scrip I left in the room the service was great and friendly. Rooms unexpectedly nice with a very comfortable bed, better than most.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smonday475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

was a very nice stay rooms very clean enjoyed the pool and staff very friendly our room was cleaned everyday and loved the pool very clean had fresh towels everyday laundry service was great got to wash clothes great stay

Room Tip: very nice clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mamamac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I felt like this motel was a real American experience..
Like any motel that one would see depicted in a Road Trip movie.
They had all the amenities: in room fridge, microwave, coffee maker,
good lighting, suitcase stand, desk and table, modern TV, air conditioning.
Their outdoor pool was refreshing, a good size and clean.
Beyond the lodge is a sweet Mexican restaurant right next door along with many other food establishments within walking distance.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Thunderbird is obviously an older hotel in the downtown area reminiscent of a bygone era, but it is perfectly serviceable for today. We spent one night here on a road trip and were well served. Our biggest complaint was the air conditioner. The temperature outside was over 100 so we were looking forward to a cool room. Unfortunately when we arrived the room was quite warm. The air conditioner was tucked away in the back of the room near the closet so did not blow directly into the room. It took a few hours to cool off, but it did eventually become comfortable. The room is on the smaller side, and the bathroom has the sink, toilet, and shower all in one room so for three people it was about waiting one's turn, but we made it work. Th wifi worked well, and that was a positive. The breakfast was in a large room, but the offering was limited. There was not protein option. Yogurt or a hard boiled egg would have been nice. All in all a good value if you are passing through Redding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a drive down the I-5 in June, and was very impressed. Although it's not directly off the I-5, and is more city-based than most hotels, it was very easy to find.

I arrived here going up to 1:00am, something I always feel a little guilty about at smaller hotels, but the gentleman a the night check-in window couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

My room was on the second, and top, floor, and on walking in I was shocked by how warm it was. It had been a very warm day, and I guess the hotel doesn't have much roof insulation. As I find it very difficult to sleep in the heat, I was a little concerned by this, but the small window-mounted air conditioning unit was remarkably efficient (and surprisingly quiet), and despite the rooms having high ceilings and being larger than many, it had cooled it down to a very comfortable temperature in about half an hour.

The room itself was immaculately clean, and while the hotel has obviously been there for some time, felt very fresh and not at all dated. A proper standalone shower in the bathroom was particularly nice compared to the more common shower-over-bath arrangement. The bed was very comfortable and I wasn't disturbed through the night, despite waking relatively late due to the long drive the day before. The wifi was free and more than fast enough.

As well as being exceptionally clean and well-maintained, I was pleasantly surprised by the decorative touches in the rooms, which made this hotel an even more pleasant overnight stay. I will have no hesitation in returning here when I am next in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,531 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
1,273 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 36 in Redding
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing