We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time we stayed there:)”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“second time we stayed there:)”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed there for the first time over a month ago...we had to go back & stay in Redding & our first choice was Thunderbird. Very quaint & clean. The owner's are nothing less than very pleasant. There is a microwave, frige, coffee pot & continental breakfast. We also recommended it to someone else in our party & he stayed there. They are in our phone while they are the owners. It's simple, affordable & clean.

Room Tip: A lot of great places within a block to dine. We found a nice lil bar/sandwich place across the St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    207
    81
    23
    6
See reviews for
120
159
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Definitely retro-looking on the outside, but surprisingly good on the inside. The folks who run it are super friendly, and the breakfast was perfectly adequate. The room was spacious enough, didn't smell like smoke and was clean. The only complaint I have is the pokey internet. I could also hear the dryer running in the laundry room and a woman talking next door - but neither lasted very long. It was inexpensive and close to some cool stuff downtown - well worth the bit of drive off of I-5.

Room Tip: Upstairs was best (no tromping above us), and we were far off of the road, but I think that added to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We only needed a place to stay one night and the Thunderbird fit the bill perfectly. The front office people were very polite both at check in and check out. Our room was clean and exactly all we needed. We will stay here again for sure and would recommend any of our friends to do the same :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The clerk (maybe owner too) is very nice! The hotel didn't offer a lot of amenities, the thing that this place has going for it is the affordability. The rooms are pretty dated but an earnest attempt has been made to update them. We liked the location for the fact that we could walk to dinner but the sound of sirens kept me awake, not to mention the rock solid spring mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeayPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean, the desk staff very nice, and the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in in awhile. Our room had a thermostat that was responsive to our needs, a refrigerator, a microwave and a great shower. There was an ice machine close by. There was a continental breakfast. The walls are pretty thin, so we could hear discussions in an adjoining room, and the coffee pot extremely small with lousy coffee. Remodeling is going on here, so the owners are working on improvements. We definitely got a good deal for what we needed and paid for. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfortable, the room was relatively safe, there was a fridge and microwave, as well as easy access from the freeway. The price was good - so this motel is a good choice for people passing through! Please note: there was a $10 pet fee is fair. Although the hotel could use updating, we would return again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wideawake02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Redding. The rooms are very well maintained and the price is very affordable as well. The beds are very comfortable. Close to Lake Shasta, the Trinity Forest, and the Town of Shasta. We stayed here for 4 nights. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Redding for a night or few nights.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sf_vatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing