We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here on my way thru Redding and should have listened to my heart and stay at the Ramada just as I have done several times in the past. This is not an easy place to get to as it is quite a bit off I-5. The service is poor to say the least and the "continental" breakfast is real bad. The shower was not clean and the overall condition of the bathroom was real bad. I will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, General Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfied stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best customer service possible and give them their monies worth. We put in a lot of effort to make sure that we provide our guests with a nice clean comfortable room. However you did not experience this and I apologize for that.
I would really appreciate if could contact me at thunderbirdrdg@yahoo.com or call me at (530) 243-5422 with details of your stay so I may investigate the issue. The information you provide us is very valuable and will help us improve our operations.
Once again, I am very sorry for your unsatisfied stay and hope you give us another chance to serve you.

Regards
Jay P.
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 508 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We can't fault the rooms in any way. They are large, spotlessly clean and everything is new. Upon arrival we were a little concerned about how noisy it would be because the hotel is situated alongside a busy road but thankfully it did quieten down at night. We need not have worried about the road because it was the proximity of the railroad that caused us the biggest problem. Not being used to USA style horns we were constantly awoken by their noise. Added to this the smoke detector in our room started to beep occasionally as from 2am. We did report this to the owner the next day and he assured us the batteries would be replaced but to our horror the next night was just as bad. He later admitted that the maintenance man had not fixed it the previous day and was very apologetic.

On the plus side the owner is very helpful and gave us good advice and directions to the nearest restaurants. However we found the choice of 'ordinary' style restaurants non existent within walking distance of the hotel. If you want Mexican, Japanese or chic bistros etc then you'll be OK. We ended up at Mary's Pizza Shack which does much more than just Pizzas and at least we could have a beer with our meal and walk back.

Because of noise from the railroad we'd never stay here again which is a shame because the lodge has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed in a lot of motels in the price range (ours was 61$ in early October for one bed) and in most cased got what we paid for: not much. This was refreshingly clean, well appointed room, beautiful contemporary décor and friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I searched Redding hotels, and chose this one because of the extensive renovations and cheap price. And the motel is very clean and inexpensive, but so noisy that we got little rest. Wedged between two busy streets, we heard traffic noise all night and train horns started before 7 a.m. It is conveniently located around a lot of great restaurants. There was a nice basic breakfast in a downstairs room, and I have to repeat that the rooms are nicely updated with fresh paint, furnishings and those great lamps with plug spaces right in the base. The bathroom had no vent and a small shower stall. Lots of noise came through its unopened window. The employees were very friendly and helpful, but I probably won't come here again because of the noise.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor, middle room -- or at an end away from the street and outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and having read reviews on TA and booking.com, Thunderbird Lodge did not disappoint.

We had a room on the top floor, as requested, which was bigger than many we have stayed in with a high ceiling. The decor was modern and stylish and the furniture looked pretty new. The room was spotlessly clean and looked cared for. In fact, the whole place looks as though the owners care about it - the exterior is well-maintained and the paintwork is all fresh and clean.

The continental breakfast was fine and the coffee good. The only downside was the proximity to the Amtrak line that runs through Redding as every twenty minutes or so (through the night as well) you hear train horns. If you are a light sleeper, wear earplugs! I think this would be the case at the majority of motels in Redding, so not peculiar to the Thunderbird. Other than that, the location is convenient. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Thunderbird Lodge on our way to Oregon. The price is excellent! The motel is clean, comfortable bed, cable tv, plenty of room, and just a couple blocks from restaurants and bars. Walkable to the downtown. Starbucks or Dutch Brothers is just down the street, and a 24 hr donut shop across the street. The staff were good. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Though the lodge had an older look everything there had been remodeled and refurbished. My wife is very picky and was very impressed how clean everything was. The staff was very friendly. We did not use the pool but it was very clean and handicap friendly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,671 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing