We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

For a low budget motel, the rooms are clean and nicely appointed. Located in the downtown area and near some attractions. Only downside is that the walls are thin, so you can hear the neighbors, and any outside noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    220
    84
    25
    6
See reviews for
129
165
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The downtown location was actually reasonably quiet. The older establishment has been nicely renovated and everything was clean. Appointments were nice and the beds were quite comfortable. The check-in was efficient. Want some good food and a beer? Try Maxwell's across the street. I have put that place in a separate review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindshearDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was a total gem! We stayed the weekend for $125.00 and our room had new furniture, carpeting, flat screen tv, and a soft bed which I personally like. There was a nice refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer and ice bucket provided. I was holding my breath when I opened the door and was relieved. The bathrooms are small, just a shower and an odd mister / spray nozzle but it worked! Location was great and we had some good meals around the corner. We didn't go to breakfast so I cannot speak to that. Check in was efficient, easy and I felt safe there. The owners are walking that property regularly. Definitely will stay here again and yes the walls are a bit thin so I would suggest getting an upstairs room for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tl4tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

If you you look at the reviews of the other Redding hotels, the higher rated ones are all more expensive to much more expensive. We got our room for $55 a night plus tax on Orbitz! We were very pleased with the room and slept well on the king sized bed. The breakfast was very basic, but adequate. Except for a train rolling by about 8:00 PM our upstairs room was very quiet. This was a great value! We will stay here again on our way to visit our son in Seattle. By the way we had dinner at Tapas on Oregon St. Three blocks away and really enjoyed it! Another highly rated trip advisor place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dell, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on the 20th of March also. As usual I requested an upstairs room with the vaulted ceilings. WE could not tell if anyone else was there that night until I looked in the parking lot...very full. The bed was great (king) and we slept very well. The breakfast the next morning is just the basics but Quite satisfying unless you were looking for a full omelet breakfast. There is juice, coffee,milk cereal, toast,fruit and danish. The sweet lady working the front desk came over to refill all the goodies( they are short handed right now) so I guess my timing was lucky. I will stay with them again. they have best combination in town. Cost, convenience and location. Did I mention that all the rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and a hairdryer. If you have a complaint, speak up right there, they will be happy to make it right!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lithoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We didn't expect much for 77$, but were still disappointed. There are two main reasons: firstly the bathroom wasn't clean, you do not want to find hair or other remnants of you predecessors, right? I can accept a room with a rundown but clean appearance but rundown and dirty is unacceptable if you pay for it. Secondly, we have never slept (well, we tried...) in a less noise insulated room. We could easily follow our neighbor's conversation (seriously, word by word) and whatever was going on in the rooms left, right or above us - we were affected noisewise. By the way, traffic was not an issue during the night. Unfortunately the breakfast next morning couldn't make up for the disaster, just the bare minimum. Nobody around to refill the coffee, make your way to the office to get hold of someone.
Overall not recommendable unless you are almost deaf and oblivious to substandard cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abceschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.

First of all, I would like to apoligize for your unsatisfied stay. Our goal is to give our guests a clean and comfortable place to relax.

Finding a "dirty" bathroom is not a norm at our facility. Our staff is trained to pay attention to every detail. However, we have been facing staffing issues for the past two weeks. We are currently training new housekeepers and this may have been an oversight. I assure you that this will not happen again.

Once again sorry for what you had to experiece and hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were thrilled at the quality of the room with a good price. Room 205 appears to have new carpets, and furniture ,along with tiled shower. King sized bed, good sized room; Room was spotless, . Room also included luggage stand, a microwave, 'frig and coffee maker (iron and ironing board available on request). Parking right outside our door. Front desk attendant very very helpful. Wi-fi and continental breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mealborozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,550 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,327 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 36 in Redding
580 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 36 in Redding
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing