We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The motel room was clean and well appointed. Although slighly small, the beds were comfortable, and for a one night stay this was a good value. The Mexican restauant adjacent to the motel was also quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPR7271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    202
    79
    23
    6
See reviews for
116
156
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in Mar 2013. The place is an older motel well located in Redding that has recently had a complete renovation of it's rooms and balconies.Everything in our upstairs "vaulted" room was brand new and the place was spotless. Jake, the owners son, was a very gracious host who looked after all our needs. A continental cold brakfast was included in our modest price and it contained all the cerials, fruits, toast, fresh "real" orange juice and sweet buns that you could possibly want with great hot coffee and tea as well.
Since the motel is located near the HWY that passes through town it could be a little noisy but if you get an upstairs room above the office the noise is minimal. Lots of walk to restaurants nearby, just ask Jake. We turn on the fan of the AC to provide a little "white" noise which lulled us to sleep and we heard nothing. Try this place ,you will be happily surprised.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs Vaulted room on backside away from HWY/street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistol13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Passing through Redding I planned to stay for the night as this property had received pretty good reviews. It was easy to find, they had rooms available ( I did not have a reservation) and it was in a downtown location. Checkin was smooth and the price was very good. This is an older motel but it has been pretty well kept, at least the room I was in. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Although old, the room was very clean. It was right adjacent to the downtown area so an easy walk for supper and a drink. The morning breakfast was very basic but enough to start the day. I would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Along with my wife, I drove into this place late night at about 11:45 from the Bay area and was on my way out at 8 in the morning towards Klamath falls. If you are going to do something like that - just get some sleep and get away in the morning - this is a great hotel. It is right off I-5 and hence a good location. There is absolutely nothing fancy about it and I in fact got a very good sleep. That is all that mattered to me that night. The breakfast in the morning was pretty fine too - some juice, bread, and pastries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We as a group from Germany to visit the Bethe Church in Redding, are very glad to found this Hotel. The Rooms absolute ok, with Coffeemachine etc. We were there in January and the first days it was very cold. Unfortunately two of our Rooms can only heated by the air conditioner-machine - a little bit loud at night.
There are a breakfast room, (continental Br.) - for us Germans are great not must to go out in a Restaurant.
The EmployeesService was very very good and kind. They helped us whenevver we help needed.
And the Price? More than adequate!!
In this Hotel you can go!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was a very clean room, quite atmosphere. Bed very comfortable. Refrigerator and micro wave was a nice added extra and they were new. Nice home away from home. I would stay here everytime I come through the area

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Found this place while searching for alternatives to the hill in Redding after being totally bummed out at Super 8.

Although Thunderbird has little street appeal during the day, what held me was my inspection of the rooms. They have just remodeled the rooms and at $59 it was a real comfortable room. I think they did a great job of interior design given the design of the building which can't be changed. And of course had Flatscreen HD TV and Wifi worked good.

The manager and his wife were friendly and attentive. I paid at 11:00 and said I'd be back later and would like the heat on since there was a cold spell when I arrived. And sure enough I got back and entered the room, the heat was on and everything was in order and comfortable.

I would also like to emphasize, there were no long term tenants or any evidence of dirtballs hangin around which would not be the case at some of the other downtown motels.

Happy Traveling,

Uncle Eric

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We try to accomodate our guests as much as possible. Many guest want to have an early check in. If the guest room is ready and available we are more than happy to check them in early.
70 % guest rooms were remodeled in Oct/Nov 2012 and the remaining are being remodeled currently. We are very happy to hear that you understand the reason for the interior design. We had to keep the exterior design of the building in mind when designing the interior. Our lodge has an arts and craft style building (so we think.) Therefore the interiors were designed for an arts and craft / contemporary feel. We tried our best without a professional designer. Hope it's working.
With regards to long term tenants, we do not have any. Our entire property is open for daily rentals. However we do have construction crews who stay with us 4-5 days a week from time to time.
Our goal is to offer our guests a clean and safe environment. Thank you for your review and hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Redding, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing