We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean and affordable”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
“Excellent, clean and affordable”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Rooms were well appointed with refrigerator, coffee pot, WiFi and space to spread out. It is close to restaurants, parks and walking/running trails.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    207
    81
    23
    6
See reviews for
120
159
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in the Thunderbird Lodge for one night while passing through Redding. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff of the hotel was fantastic. It is a family run business and they obviously are willing to go that extra mile to be sure their guests are happy. They are in great location with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. It is also very close to the Sundial Bridge and the Turtle Bay Exploration Park, a must do while your in Redding.

If you are looking for a great place, at a great price, give the Thunderbird Lodge a try! I know we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needmoresun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed a few nights here last week- nice area- nice owners- clean rooms- great value!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraisis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I don't know what a lot of these reviewers expect when are only willing to pay motel prices.

We stayed at T-bird over the July 4th long weekend. Weren't sure about it when we saw it, but appearances are deceptive. I liked the rooms - very spacious, powerful airconditioning (it was 105F outside!) and Clean.

The rooms are re-modelled - dual pane windows, new style doors. Motel owner was very courteous. I'll stay here again without hesitation.

Thanks!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gggyyyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Good -
1) Centered downtown so many things are within walking distance.
2) Fairly cheap.
3) Decently clean.
4) Provided free WI-Fi.

The Bad -
1) Continental breakfast was a joke. It consisted of nothing more than a banana and orange Juice.
2) Was located very close to hospital and therefore you could hear sirens all night long.
3) Room was very outdated.
4) Parking lot does not appear to be very monitored at night. Car is at great risk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthews0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We needed a very cheap, clean and convenient place to stay for the night, and the Thunderbird Lodge exceeded everything else we looked at in Redding, CA. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and quiet, parking lot was well lit and felt secure. Perfect place to spend a quick night on a trip, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Booked online 2 days prior and got a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonTravler503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

There is nothing you can do when your motel is only a few yards from the Regional Hospital: helicopters flying at any time, Emergency Vehicles with loud sirens at 11pm or 3am...
The motel is fine, the service and the rooms are fine too, however this is the worst experience I´ve had in years. What makes me sad is saying this when the motel has nothing to do with my bad experience. Next time, if I ever come back to Redding, I´ll go to the other location when more expensive hotels are, at the other side of the I-5.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing