We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
46
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts rooms are spacious rick connie privacy accommodations california
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We could only stay one night but will keep Apples River House in mind next time we are in the area. We were attracted to it because of it's location on the paved trail along the Sacramento River, but we were doubly delighted to find such a pleasant B & B and such kind, welcoming hosts. Connie and Rick were helpful suggesting dinner places and making us feel at home.

The grounds are a little slice of heaven, many water features and cozy little shady spots with comfy seating to relax with a glass of wine in the soft warm night. I think we tried them all. Many fun touches of lighting and a playful tiki sculpture. The honeysuckle hedge surrounding the property would be wonderful to see in full bloom, just a few blossoms in August.

The room was spacious, contemporary with a touch of craftsman. The bed was super comfortable, great linens and soft, huge, fluffy towels. We slept with the windows and balcony door open, the room cooled wonderfully and we were glad not to have stuffy air conditioning. It was fun to have a balcony for a little before bed chat.

In the morning we took a 2 hour walk along the river and came back to a perfect summer breakfast, hot coffee and fresh fruit. Connie suggested eating outside and what a great idea.

A great place, friendly hosts and we miss them already!

Room tip: All rooms are great.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoolook999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to discover this lovely home in a pretty section of Redding! We were looking to break up a long drive from CA to Oregon, and on the first leg, we stayed in one of the cookie cutter motels on the east side of town. But on our return trip, we wisely booked with the Apples' and had a much nicer visit to Redding. It can be brutally hot in Redding in July, but our room was cooled with AC in the day, then opened up to the cooling breezes of the river in the evening. The furnishings are comfortable, attractive, and the bed was great. We enjoyed sitting in the nicely landscaped garden in the evening and walking along the river trail the next morning. The hosts are helpful, attentive, and welcoming. We will always book here for any future trip to the area.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank mmmm32956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This has become our go-to place in Redding. Why pay a similar price for an impersonal hotel when you can be greeted like an old friend, given a glass of wine, completely unwind in a serene yard with water splashing into a pond, and then sleep like a baby in a bed with upscale linens? On top of that, the house adjoins the river walking and biking path and is close to downtown but in a quiet neighborhood. Wake up in the morning and enjoy Connie's breakfasts on the outdoor patio. Our spacious West Room has a fireplace for cozy evenings and the big flat-screen television downstairs is available for guests. What more can I say to validate my 5 star rating?

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We loved our stay at Apples' River B&B - wish we could've stayed longer! It was easy to access and in a quiet neighborhood. The place was immaculate with inviting rooms and gardens to sit and relax. The bed was so comfy it felt great to crawl into and sleep after a long day of traveling. The next day we enjoyed walking along the paved Sacramento River trail hiking/biking path that had trail access right next to the house. Bring your bicycle if you want to go further on this trail - it goes for miles and is just beautiful along the river. Connie made a fabulous breakfast upon our return from the early morning walk. Ric & Connie were gracious hosts that make you feel welcome and at home. We will definitely go there again!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A beautiful home with interesting, kind and knowledgable hosts Connie and Ric. Connie went out of her way to pick up my favorite coffee cup that I had left at a restaurant! Seriously, I came home from a very long day of work and mentioned that I left the coffee cup--and she called the restaurant and then went and got it for me. So sweet. Redding is such a friendly town--Ric and Connie put the cherry on top of my experience. You'll want to stay here--the garden is outstanding.

Thanks Connie and Ric!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews