We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”
Review of Redcrest Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redcrest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redcrest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2006

A group of eight summer interns working at the national lab in Livermore traveled up to Redcrest for a weekend in the redwoods. We booked many weeks in advance, but after driving the six hours to get to the "resort", they refused to let us stay because there would be too many people in the "shack". We probably should have inquired about the eight people, but since we are students, we decided we would rather sleep on the floor than pay for another room that they didn't have. When trying to check in with the eight people, they first said the maximum number of people was six, but then after we offered to have two people sleep in the cars, they dropped the maximum down to four. They also said that they have the "right to refuse service to anyone". It seemed more like age discrimination than any type of policy. When they refused to let us use their phone to call another motel, we had to find a payphone to figure out where we were going to stay. Finally, while we were talking in the parking lot about what we should do, they sent two guys out on the patio to watch us to make sure we didn't do anything to their property. This was after we were entirely polite despite the circumstances. Needless to say, they were not very friendly people, and I do not recommend this "resort" in any way. If you are looking for a warm, friendly atmosphere, travel a few extra miles up the road and stay in Humboldt Gables Motel in Scotia. It doesn't sound as nice, but I assure you it is superior to Redcrest with respect to rooms, service, and friendly atmosphere. In fact, they may want to change the names to Redcrest Motel and Humboldt Gables Resort...these names are much more fitting.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rookiedg0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    17
    8
    13
See reviews for
53
39
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We made reservations for one of the cabins. When we got there, they refused to rent us the cabin because they didn't want the kids there. We were apalled. We ended up spending most of our trip finding another place to stay. AVOID THIS RESORT. They are not friendly and don't like kids.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSUdom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2006

If you love quaint little places in Heaven, this is it. The cabins are clean and in the shadow of Giant Redwoods.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

We stayed in one of the smaller cabins that don't have kitchenettes. Judging by the other reviews, perhaps the bigger cabins are nicer, but ours wasn't acceptable. The bedspead, blanket, and decorative pillows were dirty and splattered with what looked like spilled food. There is a big, scary natural gas heater that's hard to control--the room is either freezing or sweltering. Worse, the carbon mononxide detector had no batteries, which was worrisome. There's moldy caulk around the shower in the bathroom. We made it through the night okay, but I was glad to leave in the morning.
The rooms is tiny, which is okay, and the area is very quiet and pretty, which I loved. The cabin is plastered with rules and warnings about how you shouldn't steal things, can't have guests without paying a fee, etc. Not very inviting.
Yes, I expected rustic, but also clean and safe. The price isn't good for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank stainless_steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2006

What a horrible stay!!
The place is pretty, the rooms tacky but comfortable, beds nice.
Shower was horrible. Only a small child can use. My 5' 7" father could not get under to wash his hair and the shower was so small you couldn't bend over to wash your hair. I had to shower on my very sore knees!!!

Said they would arrange a shuttle for us so we could fish....when we got there and asked for the shuttle they said NO.

Phones? NO. Down the street is a phone booth. No cell phone signal for 10 miles. Sure glad an emergency didn't happen while I was gone!

Wanted me to park my drift boat (fancy rowboat)on the highway in front of the resort ( resort?????) which was 200' away from our room and right on the highway! Then were bothered that I was not going to do that and would park my car out there instead of the boat.

Couple that greeted us was Incredibly rude.
Would not even let us leave our suitcases there after checkout so we could fish and not leave them in the truck (had spent 3 nights with them). Told us that they had guests coming in and our stuff would be in the way. The place was almost vacant on a beautiful 3 day weekend, but they had guests coming in on Monday???? Hmmm..... Not if they keep acting like they did with us.

Debbie and groundskeepers were great!!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2005

While advertised as "cabins," I like to think or these units as 1940's motel accomadations. There are no fireplaces, which is a disappointment, but these pet-friendly kitchenette-cabins are a great way to rough it in comfort. Sure, the showers are way too short and kitchens are cramped, like some of the reviews said in the guestbook (left in the cabin) but people, people, people! What are you EXPECTING? When I was washing dishes at the tiny kitchen sink, I couldn't help but think how lucky I was to have RUNNING HOT WATER- think of all the folks in the world that don't! That's what these cabins are about. Rough it a bit, become one with the redwoods, live close with some friends or relatives, cook a meal in your tiny kitchen and imagine you and your S.O. in your 1939 Dodge, working your way down the Avenue of the Giants, stopping in Redcrest, tired and hungry, check in at the office with the folks who seem happy to see you, eat a modest meal at the cafe across the street or cook something simple in your fully-equipped kitchen.

But I digress. Don't expect phones and hi-speed internet. Expect clean. Expect comfy. Expect friendly. Heck, you MIGHT EVEN END UP TALING TO THE PEOPLE NEXT DOOR! Enjoy the outdoor BBQ, playground, and hot tub. Enjoy the walk through the forest to the walk-thru redwood tree. If you're lucky, the volunteer fire department will have an emergency and drive off in their new fire truck.

Relax. Slow down. This is a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rfrenchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2005

When looking for a place to stay in the Coast Redwoods, I came across the Redcrest Resort's homepage and was impressed by its content and appearance. Nine of us were planning a trip together, and this looked like a place with something for each of us. We were more than satisfied when we arrived! The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The cabins feel homey, are roomy and charmingly decorated with a loving touch. The rooms lack nothing. They have it all, right down to rocking chairs and a crockpot! You can move in with nothing more than a change of clothes and your toothbrush! The atmosphere is peaceful yet impressive, as Redwoods usually are. There are lovely, inspiring walks in the woods literally from your doorstep. The gift shop is a delight, with something for everyone and every taste. Even the grocery shop accross the road was pleasant and well stocked. The only problem we had was not staying long enough. Next time we plan to stay several days, possibly a week. For a family getaway, a romantic interlude or fun vacation, we give Redcrest 11 points out of 10! Thank you Redcrest! Check out their homepage - their own pictures are much better than mine turned out.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcrest
24.5 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
692 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
16.3 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
19.4 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcrest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcrest Resort

Property: Redcrest Resort
Address: 26459 Avenue of the Giants, PO Box 235, Redcrest, CA 95569
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Redcrest
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Redcrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Redcrest Hotel Redcrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing