We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Barn”
Review of The Green Barn

The Green Barn
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Red Bluff
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Green Barn”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Many years ago it was the "in" place to eat and socialize. The food and drinks were great, then the original owner sold it and it has changed hands many times in the last ten years. I was therewith a club group for lunch about a year ago and ordered a hamburger. It was good. This place has lots of potential to be the place it use to be!!!

Helpful?
Thank Retired9844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    16
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are not many nice restaurants to choose from in Red Bluff that are not a chain and this is a good one. The decor matches the name--green and country style. It is clean and is a pleasant atmosphere. The menu covers what you would expect at a steak house. The medallions with bourbon mushroom sauce are delicious and you get plenty of food (big portions). The service was excellent--friendly and efficient. Definitely a repeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seashell819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite for 50 years: steak sandwich with salad!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed an early afternoon lunch on Saturday at The Green Barn. Steak sandwich with salad with bleu cheese dressing. My husband likes the steak san with grilled onions and cheese (Swiss). I like mine on plan roll, with catsup! (Like I've eaten it since high school!)

Definitely comfort food - like "going home". For an extra indulgence, a side of onion rings and a glass of red wine. Service is always great at The Green Barn, it has a hunt club atmosphere, dimly lit and casual. I hope it never changes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEREHAM UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top notch steak house”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The menu, the venue, the service, the steak, the wine(oh the wine!) Were all first class. I would gladly recommend this establishment any time. Plenty of parking, it's a downtown place so nothing scenic to report on, it gets quiet beyond 8.30pm so might be wise to check if they serve later than this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We wandered into The Green Barn after our GPS kept taking us down the wrong road for the restaurant we wanted. The outside of the building and the inside too are rather dark and old-fashioned but the food was plentiful and good. The service was efficient and friendly and it was good to meet the owner/manager at the door when we left to be given a cheery goodbye and a thank you. If the decor were freshened up to give the place a brighter look, I think the food might even taste better!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YohoBoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Green Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing