We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too promising reviews”
Review of Sportsman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too promising reviews”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading all the good reviews about the Sportsman Lodge, I didn't hesitate booking a room. Unfortunately, the room was just not clean. The carpet was dirty, the towels were thin and shabby and the furniture was quite outdated. The coffee maker was yucky and brown, we didn't want to use it. It was definately not worth $73. I wouldn't recommend this place for this money. If it's only to rest and get some sleep and the night's less than $60, I would do it. Otherwise, I would look for something else. However, the owner was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ReginaSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Unfortunately this place just wasn't clean, which is a major issue for me. There was a ton of soap scum and mildew in the shower. Even the sink was covered in scum, which is really unacceptable. The blanket on the bed was torn up and the television was so old that the color was quite noticeably off. Everything was old, and that would have been fine if it had been kept up and was clean. For what we paid and from the reviews, I really expected better. It was in a quiet location if that is important to you. The one bonus was 10% off the restaurant across the street. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyKim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Oregon. Great value, kind service. Very clean. I enjoyed the comfy chair with foot stool. If the timing works out right we will stay here on our way back. I loved the shower. Reminded me our cool tiled shower of the 60's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelorSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rooms are very clean, spacious, and they have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, cozy lounge chair, along with a great place for sitting and eating in the room. Also, the rooms have great t.v. selection and speedy wifi. When you need to cool down or warm up, the heater and air work great as well. Staff is very pleasing and hepful.Ilove that the location is near everything handy in this town. My fionce and i will be staying here again whenever we are in town.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great and available in smoking and non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Clean and Cozy family owned and operated motel in Red Bluff...Every room has microwave...refrigerator...expanded cable tv...in-room coffee and WiFi..Friendly staff and 24 hour desk...Great location and Affordable rates...I will stay there everytime I go to Red Bluff, California...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We like to stay in family run motels that exude some personal charm. This motel in Red Bluff has large rooms that are very clean and neat. It brings back memories of traveling cross-country in the 60s with my parents. There is a small, but very functional bathroom, that even has a medicine cabinet above the sink. The king size bed was very comfortable. It is the kind of place that people might stay for more than a day and have the space to spread out and be comfortable. It is located near many restaurants and other businesses. While the street is rather noisy the sounds are not very noticeable inside the room. The owner gave us some very good recommendations for places to eat dinner and breakfast. Both places that we chose gave a 10% discount for mentioning the name of the motel. Overall, we were very comfortable and would definitely come back to stay when passing through Red Bluff in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BioDocWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Firstly, if you are paying $60 for a room, you probably won't get a flat screen TV, new carpet, modern decor. The decor here is old-fashioned, and so is the owner, in a good way: honest, kind, helpful.
So with that in mind, we found a coupon for the Sportsman Lodge in one of those coupon books at a rest stop and decided to give it a try, because it had the best price. We were greeted by the friendly owner who was very knowledgeable about the area, and had maps that ended up being quite handy later at Lake Shasta.
I was surprised how large the room was for the price,and that it included coffee maker, mini-fridge, cable, hair dryer, free WiFi, and microwave and clean pool. Oftentimes, I bring my own pillow, but didn't need it here, as there were extra pillows that were comfy and plush.
It was clean enough for us, and he didn't mind that we topped off our cooler from the ice machine before we left. We were comfortable enough about the parking situation that we left our camp gear in the truck bed (usually we cram it all inside the cab when at cheap motels). This seems to be a favorite stop-over for fishermen, boaters, hunters, and other outdoorsy folks.
It is next to the fairgrounds (which was closed when we were there), and .there are restaurants nearby, but we just prepped meals in the room from our cooler, thanks to a microwave and table/chairs in the room.
We liked it so much we stayed there again on our way back from our Lake Shasta boat/camp trip. We plan to stay there again on our annual boat trips in Nor Cal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineSplitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Bluff hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Red Bluff
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Red Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Red Bluff
Travelodge Red Bluff
#10 of 16 in Red Bluff
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Classic Inn
Classic Inn
#12 of 16 in Red Bluff
27 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Lodge

Property: Sportsman Lodge
Address: 768 Antelope Blvd, Red Bluff, CA 96080-8834
Location: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sportsman Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 king bed, 2 queen beds, 3 beds, pets welcome $+, all rooms are on ground floor, free parking, in-room coffee, microwave/fridge, HBO, Hairdryer, large rooms, wireless internet. Next door to Fairgrounds. Gateway to Lassen National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing