We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood Brick Oven Pizza”
Review of Pizza e Vino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza e Vino
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Brick Oven Pizza”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaurant was a pleasant surprise in Rancho Santa Margarita. Fun wine and beer selections. The brushchetta and bianco sausage pizza was great. The restaurant was really busy. Our waitress had too many tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSM9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Expensive, service was OK despite only having one server”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to give this little pizza place a try since it had a nice location on Lake RSM. We went on Wine Wednesday, which is when they discount an overly-expensive wine by 50% to price it closer to normal restaurant retail.

We were seated immediately, and our server greeted us and took our drink orders a few minutes later. She was friendly, and had about 5 other tables to work on top of ours.

We ordered two small salads and the garlic bread, all of which were very nice. The garlic bread is basically pizza crust covered in oil and garlic, and crisped up in the pizza oven. You’ll need to like slightly burnt parts of your pizza or bread crust if you’re to eat here. It’s just how it’s cooked in the oven. We liked the garlic bread.

Our 12” pizza arrived (the Mona Lisa for $16.95). Light cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sundried tomatoes, and artichoke hearts. The crust towards the middle was soggy and sloppy, and the edges were burnt slightly, but overall it wasn't terrible.

If we came back, we’d likely order a few starters and share a salad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_N_018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
“Terrible Service!!!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Terrible service! . We waited 20 minutes, with not even a refill of water to place our order. We finally ordered an appetizer and two pizza's. Not only did the waitress, Tiffany, bring us the wrong order, but when she did bring us the pizza's (which were burnt and cold) she failed to bring the appetizer. On top of that the waitress had a nasty attitude when we requested that she take back the cold food. Very unfriendly and very dissapointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A special Pizza Experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

While visiting Southern California is winter, friends recommended this restaurant. Although a little pricey it is definitely worth the trip. The owner has the flour and water flown in directly from Italy on a daily basis. I believe the pizza we had last night was very close to the pizza I had in Rome. A thin crust (crunchy) with just the right topping. I ordered the organic salad to begin with. It had goat cheese, cranberries and nuts and was delightful. We ordered the Margarita with Basil which was just great and also the Prociutto with Mozzerella. The extensive wine list included Italian wine which we ordered and was wonderful. The pizza is made in a brick oven which makes this pizza different from what you are used to. Staff was attentive, polite and informative. We had a two and three year old with us and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great pizza, a little slice of Italy in south OC”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great ambiance, small and intimate with attentive service and great food, you can't go wrong with this little piece of heaven. Great pizza and wine selections as well.

Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza e Vino also viewed

Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
 
Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
 
Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
 

Been to Pizza e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing