We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgan Run Club & Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The overall hotel experience was decent. We have 7 kids between our 3 families and it was probably the most kid friendly hotel. However, this would be a great hotel to go as couple because it has beautiful views, golf course, and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We purchased 3 rooms via Priceline. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were told there was a mandatory $16 per room per night fee for the amenities. This was not stated anywhere on Priceline, and this hidden charge was quite frustrating because we agreed on one price and ended up having to pay an extra $106! Neither Priceline or the hotel would do anything about waiving this charge, and I feel it's dishonest and that we should have been given the option of whether we wanted amenities or not. There were only about 5 channels on the TV that worked, the toilet kept clogging, and the tub wouldn't turn off and stop dripping. Also the service at the club restaurant was very sub-par. Our server was friendly, but she took FOREVER. It took us 2 hours to complete our meal from the time we arrived (over 20 minutes just to be seated). Overall I'm very disappointed in our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillariousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice, big rooms with high ceilings, very clean.
Carpet in the hallways needs cleaning.
Downturn-resort fee $16 a day,which I was unawere off.
Free internet in rooms was a lttle bit slow, I was unable to skype.
Very beautiful surroundings, not very far from the ocean.
TV in my room did not work properly.

Room Tip: I like 2nd floor, because rooms have high ceilngs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liliya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although Morgan Run Club seems to be getting beat up on this site a bit, I will give it a deserving 3 stars. The hotel is the definition of average. The surrounding area is great, but the rooms have seen better days, or decades perhaps.

It is not really a place that I would go back to. We wanted to stay a little further north for a night, and it served its purpose. Our proximity to the beach towns and North County was all we were searching for, and to that end alone, Morgan Run sufficed. The staff was courteous, and the grounds were well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orange-u-tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Tired and worn. Long overdue for a renovation. A two star at best. It had a creepy feel. Ill go back to Best Westerns. The spare furniture was beat up and marked and the chairs were stained. There was no desk, so forget about doing business. The hallways smelled strongly of some sort of air fresheners. Do they not know that carpets can be cleaned? Some areas of carpet were black. Some places carpet was replaced with mismatched carpet. The bathtub was chipped but at least at one spot they tried to patch it but not every place. The hallways had nicks and marks on the walls. The door to the room sticks and I had to force it open. On the plus side the sheets were clean as were the towels and bathroom. The bed was comfortable and perhaps was not as abused and aged as the rest of the furniture. There was no mention prior to arrival of a resort fee which is mandatory even if you check in late and leave early without using any facilities. Unlike Morgan Run a La Quinta the prior night was so much nicer and parking, Internet, and breakfast were included in the reasonable room rate.

Room Tip: go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Minus the cluelessness and lack of professionalism among staff it's not half bad given the price. I spent less than $400 on my 3 night stay. Golf course was nice and fun to play even for a beginner like me. The rooms were well kept and it did have amenities (for an extra fee) which were nice. However, during my stay I went to get water from the communal dispenser before my round of golf and an employee cut in front of me , did not apologize, or help me getting my water . I could tell they were worked there by there gold name badge which I caught the title of supervisor. Are you in the hospitality business ? After working there it was obvious clubcorp was the only thing keeping the hotel a float with the lack of leadership. The hotel itself is nice , good room size , and everything felt clean ; except the dinning room. The amenities offered a great workout facility with all the equipment a basic gym has. Tennis courts were available, clean, and blocked out the sun/heat well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconsfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you like a shot of espresso, a round of golf, a workout, or a few laps in the pool before breakfast, this is heaven. If all you want is a clean comfortable room, and you got it half-price online, this is a good value for the money. If you paid retail and/or are discriminating, this might be a bit disappointing.

Pros: large updated rooms with feather bed and strong shower and robes (2), in-room espresso machine, balcony, spa services on site (facial, massage, etc), fitness center, yoga studio, locker rooms, kids club (paid drop-off) with scheduled activities, pool lap lanes (2), kids water feature, handicap lift to pool, whirlpool, poolside cafe with beer and wine (until 2pm), golf course, pro-shop, business center with board room, restaurant with large private event areas, wifi included.

Cons: the overall lack of attention to detail is noticeable... carpets need shampoo/deodorizing, room hvac needs cleaning, some clocks in common areas need new batteries, at least half the chaise lounges at the pool are broken and not safe for anyone of more than moderate girth, wifi is unreliable and staff are not readily able to correct it, wifi access code changes every Sunday night and they don't tell you unless you ask, restaurant opens too late for most people (8am) - tho Denny's isn't far.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have vaulted ceilings and a ceiling fan, but no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnmama457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Santa Fe
2 mi away
The Inn at Rancho Santa Fe, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
6.5 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
255 reviews
2.9 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
229 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Run Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Run Club & Resort

Address: 5690 Cancha de Golf, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92091-4408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range: $105 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Run Club & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An irresistible invitation to relax and unwind at a unique All-American style Private club. Escape to an island of great service and pampering in our family-inviting pool, relaxing sun bathing area, top of the line fitness center and rejuvenating day spa. Do nothing or do it all, play golf, tennis, work out or just relax. Our restaurant's incredible views includes a great selection of cuisine for the discriminating palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Morgan Run Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Run Club And Resort
Morgan Run Club Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Morgan Run Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing