We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its reputation”
Review of Rancho Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Valencia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Like other Auberge resorts, this property is of a real standard. Villas are spread out enough for privacy and service is wonderful. We asked if there were DVD's available and within 5 mins a list was delivered to our door. Upgraded to a suite was lovely and whilst we only ate Breakfast it was delicious.
Spa is wonderful, great spinning class at 6.30 am and a steam is a great way to start one's day. The pool was laid out and serviced although the weather clearly meant hat no one was going to be there. Standards were kept up. Public gardens overlooking Tennis Courts are wonderful.

Small thing , there is a public laundry facility (stocked with detergent) so you don't have to pay $20 to wash your smalls if needed. Nice touch for a 5 star resort as was the free wireless.
We shall return

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Britcrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Valencia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 301 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

Rancho Valencia is set in a beautiful location. The gardens were so serene, I felt relaxed before I even stepped through the door to the Spa. The rooms were lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. I may have to return just for another taste of the squash soup. Our stay at Rancho Valencia was superb from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jab5348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Ranch Valencia is a gorgeous property--unfair to call it a hotel--off the beaten path outside of San Diego. It's a great place to go to get away from the world in amazing luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Even though my wife and I live in San Diego, we felt like we really got away. The spa was excellent with very nice people who gave us a great facial and massage in a relaxing atmosphere. Dinner was excellent; we had a cheese plate to start, the best pork chop we have ever had for dinner, and an apple galette for desert. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outandaboout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is the first time we have been back to Rancho Valencia Resort in a few years. We always remembered it as a tranquil, peaceful place where we could relax & get away from it all. Boy, have things changed! We could not believe how noisy it is there. There are constant leaf blowers going from early in the morning until the afternoon - even when we were sunbathing at the main pool! We actually called the front desk to have them stop because it was out of control. They complied but the next day the noise continued. In addition, there is a constant barage of construction trucks going up & down the main road so walking was prohibited except on the limited trails. We felt walking on the road was very dangerous. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is NOT the place

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ymike31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a place to celebrate our anniversary without having to go far outside of our city. This place was the perfect getaway whether in or outside of San Diego. The drive up through the grounds instantly sets the tone of a place of relaxation, and that it was. The staff was very attentive, accommodating, welcoming and knowledgeable. They certainly made us feel well taken care of with an above and beyond, but not overwhelming standard of guest service. The spa services are incredible, the staff is well trained and the relaxation room really makes you not want to leave. We are big on food and were pleasantly surprised to see some great sourcing from local farms with not only a creative approach to the menu but equally delicious, as well. The view during brunch was pleasantly relaxing. If there were any negatives it's hard to recount as the staff, grounds and amenities make every effort to ensure your stay is nothing short of exactly why you arrived there in the first place. We would definitely recommend this place as a destination resort, and thankfully this works as a great staycation for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farragood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Perfect place to rest and relax. The spa facility (included) is beautifully maintained and the staff is professional and kind. The rooms are large yet cozy. Every morning fresh orange juice, a paper and a beautiful view. Great bed and stellar products.
My only gripe is the cost of service and beverages at the pool area ($12 + for a smoothie).

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Santa Fe
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Valencia

Address: 5921 Valencia Cir, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067-9520
Location: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range: $607 - $1,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rancho Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 45 lush acres in Rancho Santa Fe, California, the timeless Rancho Valencia is a Mediterranean sanctuary far from the ordinary, combining gracious hospitality and inspired luxury. An all-suite Relais & Châteaux property hand-selected by U.S. News & World Report the #1 resort in California (2017) this world-class destination offers 49 luxuriously appointed casitas with private patios, stunning three bedroom villas, rejuvenating spa treatments, a wellness-oriented fitness program, two distinctive restaurants, a world-renowned tennis program and more. In recent years, Rancho Valencia has been honored with the AAA Five Diamond Award (2017, 2016, 2015), the Forbes Five-Star Award (2017, 2016, 2015), and has enjoyed placement on the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List (2015). The resort has also received the Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award twice (2016, 2015) as well as multiple Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards (2016) including #1 in Southern California and #15 in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rancho Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Valencia, An Auberge Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Rancho Valencia Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing