We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
Review of Rancho Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Valencia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Level Contributor
332 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've been to some nice places but this place is incredible. The place went thru total renovations 2 yrs ago and it shows. the room is incredibly spacious w/ sitting room, the bathroom is the size of many manhattan apartments w/ a soaking tub, separate shower w/ dressing room to the side. the balcony was bigger than my backyard at home. It is super lux. they deliver fresh squeezed OJ in the AM w/ oranges and the paper. there is a fancy expresso machine in each rm w/ milk frother. the drinks and food in the cabinet are complementary. the views are very nice and everywhere you go, you're surrounded by natural perfume of flowers. here on business but still very impressed. It's very expensive so you get what you pay for I guess. there was a buffet b-fast and that was rather dull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Rancho Valencia, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Lauren,

I couldn't be happier to see that you enjoyed your time here with us. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments regarding our guest rooms and the grounds.

We've made note of your feedback regarding the breakfast. We like to keep things interesting, so we'll be sure to look into spicing things up a bit in that area. Please feel free to pass along any specific recommendations to us at groupevents@ranchovalencia.com.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmly,

David Shipman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    20
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
157
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just got back from our second trip to Rancho Valencia. My husband allowed me to choose any place I wanted to celebrate my birthday. This place does not disappoint! Service is the best in the industry. They go out of their way to get you an umbrella on a cloudy day to researching the lotion used in the yoga class. We took classes every morning (yoga, stretching, ballet) and when you are finished they bring you a yummy green smoothie! The restaurant and bar renovation is fantastic. The bar is a fun place to people watch....and be seen!
We got one of the villas with two fireplaces (one on outdoor patio) and a plunge pool. We never needed to leave our villa.
I am looking forward to our next and hopefully annual trip back to RV!

Room Tip: Any room or villa with a private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
500 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This a small very exclusive hotel with a fantastic restaurant and a very nice bar. It was remodeled last year and new Spa is one of the best I have seen all around the world !!!! As a tennis fanatic this can be one of the most exclusive clubs you can play in. Southern California has one of the best weather in the USA. I love this place ! Alb May.

Room Tip: Every room is New, so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location is 30 mins from San Diego Airport, in a lovely quiet location.

This is a resort not a hotel. The staff are amazing, the service is five star BUT the staff are relaxed and so friendly, there is no pretension at all that can come with some five star properties.

The catering is excellent and they strive to please. Do try the Cobb Salad in the Pony Bar.

Some key staff that should be mentioned: Mathew for Front of House. Amber for function supervision. Cathleen who is just the best sales contact ever! Finally and by no means least Tracy who runs the operations side and stayed in touch throughout our event.

Do try the spa if you get a chance, it is not cheap but the experience is well worth it.

One piece of advice though, as this is a resort the rooms are dotted around the estate in lovely grounds. However at night it can be very dark, so take a torch with you is my best advice. They have to keep lighting low due to local restrictions but it does make the place special. if your stuck just ask the valet team to come and get you in one of the buggies. By the way the valet guys are really great team, so experienced and clearly know all their regular guests. Super helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

I want to make this one of my locations that I have to return to privately.

Happy to give any further advice and info to anyone that needs it.

Room Tip: If a group of you, and you need three bedrooms, try for the Hacienda, it comes with lounge, kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Really top-notch hotels are hard to find, especially those that aren't too pretentious. I was hugely impressed by Rancho Valencia - comfortable, cosy, incredibly well-appointed rooms (mine even had its own spa outside) that aren't too fussy, but of a very high standard.
As was the food and the service - not too fussy, but cool and attentive.
I'll definitely try to get back there and suggest you do, too.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with its own spa outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loyola, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wow! I wish we could have stayed longer. The room was spacious and well appointed. The decor is rustic but lovely and very, very comfortable. All to the staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. The food in the restaurants was good enough to cause one to need another trip to the fitness center and spa. The late night bar scene was fun and lively. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A family dinner at the restaurant around Christmas reflected a decline in the usual high standards of the resort restaurant.....lukewarm food, service levels under stress, errors in the check and an invisible maître`d. Must and can do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Santa Fe
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Rancho Santa Fe, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
11.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
7.4 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Valencia

Property: Rancho Valencia
Address: 5921 Valencia Cir, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067-9520
Location: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rancho Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 45 lush acres in Rancho Santa Fe, California, the timeless Rancho Valencia is a Mediterranean sanctuary far from the ordinary, combining gracious hospitality and inspired luxury. An all-suite Relais & Châteaux property hand-selected by U.S. News & World Report the #1 resort in California (2017) this world-class destination offers 49 luxuriously appointed casitas with private patios, stunning three bedroom villas, rejuvenating spa treatments, a wellness-oriented fitness program, two distinctive restaurants, a world-renowned tennis program and more. In recent years, Rancho Valencia has been honored with the AAA Five Diamond Award (2017, 2016, 2015), the Forbes Five-Star Award (2017, 2016, 2015), and has enjoyed placement on the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List (2015). The resort has also received the Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award twice (2016, 2015) as well as multiple Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards (2016) including #1 in Southern California and #15 in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Valencia, An Auberge Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Rancho Valencia Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing