We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abalone Cove Shoreline Park & Ecological Reserve
Open today: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
How to access tidepools

We learned the hard way that some tide pools are not accessible. Here’s the easiest way to access... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2019
katcin515
via mobile
Unparalleled Beauty

You can have an enjoyable experience right here in our backyard. A small hike leads you to a... read more

Reviewed June 4, 2019
HFRANCIS_RPV
,
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Read all 93 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rancho Palos Verdes
from $234.00
More Info
from $479.00
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
60
25
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
25
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide pools low tide abalone cove parking lot parking area inspiration point well worth the effort marine life beautiful area picnic tables tidepools hike sandy shoes critters wonders path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 93 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2018

Perhaps there usually is sea life in the tidal pools but not on the day we visited and its quite a hike to get down to the rocks...and back up again! Still, we got to watch dolphin swimming just off shore so that was fun...but getting up early to make low tide was a waste!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Judi-in-touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We spent about 3 hours hiking around and playing on the beach. Just gorgeous local, friendly people nice way to spend a morning.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

I visited this place for my research. I believe that the number of marine animals have been declining gradually.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank minimize940314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

We went around 2pm, so it was really hot... Beautiful scenery but I think we should have gotten there earlier to see the tide pools and to enjoy the walk in less heat. You definitely need tennis shoes as the walk is steep and very dusty!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

The trail we took was very steep...roots and rocks were in abundance. Hiked down to the cove and found that the beach consisted of rocks. Saw many families with little kids hiking down and was wondering if they knew this as they appeared to be ready to hang out on the beach...towels and coolers, etc. The view from the cliffs above were outstanding.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank lcb5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews