We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently outstanding!”
Review of Admiral Risty

Admiral Risty
Reserve with OpenTable
Admiral Risty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hawthorne Blvd
Description: Welcome to The Admiral Risty, a Palos Verdes Peninsula tradition since 1966! Conveniently located in Ranco Palos Verdes, this upscale American restaurant overlooks the Pacific Ocean with a beautiful view of Catalina Island. We offer award-winning food featuring fresh fish, aged steaks, lamb and poultry dishes, along with assorted appetizers including oysters, clams, house-cured Salmon Gravlex and house baked sour dough breads. Additionally, our full service bar offers a variety of cocktails, martinis and an extensive wine list recognized with the Wines of Excellence Award. For a special occasion celebration, The Admiral Risty is the perfect choice. Enjoy our spectacular ocean view and warm atmosphere while our experienced and competent staff members provide the perfect plan to meet your every need. We invite you to visit our website, then call to schedule your next event or make your dinner reservation and see why everyone is raving about The Admiral Risty.
SoCal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“consistently outstanding!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

fabulous fresh seafood.....greast service! We always return to Admiral Risty and enjoy it more with each visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    53
    40
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My husband and I love this restaurant for over 30 years. It is very close to our house and whenever we go to have dinner there are full of people sitting dinner table enjoying meals. We feel good positive energy once enter Admiral Risty's door.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cknori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
“Great food and view!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We love the Admiral Risty, just wish it was in Ventura County! We make the trek a couple of times a year just so we have a great steak and seafood meal. Well recommended!

Dave

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, but meh”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The view is spectacular, if you're lucky enough to get a table where you can see the ocean. This place has been around for a long time and has a great fish menu. But - the fish is frozen. The service isn't that great. The last time my husband and I were here the waiter spilled an entire bowl of tartar sauce on my husband's dinner jacket. He didn't apologize and just acted as "oh well". On the way out, my husband mentioned it to the owner who just handed him a $20 bill and coldly told him to take the jacket to the cleaners. Yes, it was nice to get the cleaning bill taken care of. But it was as if they didn't even care. This place gets a lot of business and I guess they feel they can treat people in such a way. We're "locals" and used come here, but not anymore.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NIce service and good food.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have eaten at the Admiral Risty many times when working in Palos Verdes, California. It has always been very nice. Do not miss this restaurant if you are near the PV Penn. north of Long Beach and south of the airport, LAX.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Risty also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to Admiral Risty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing