We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really pretty place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Vicente Lighthouse

Point Vicente Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$234.00*
and up
Private Helicopter Tour of Downtown Los Angeles from Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
245 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“really pretty place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

nice run from hotel and great views of ocean from the parking lot. good interpretive trails near here as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“20 minute drive from the South Bay Area ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I've lived in Los Angeles my whole life and have never heard of this spot until Trip Advisor. Actually I haven't heard of quite a few LA spots until Trip Advisor?
Anywho, it is absolutely gorg and is definitely worth a trip. My family and I decided to take a Sunday drive up to the light house and were amazed at how beautiful and peaceful it was. We arrived around 7pm which was disappointing because we missed the sunset but there was still enough light to see everything including Catalina in the distance. It wasn't crowded at all, just a few folks taking pictures and 1-2 couples taking in the view. There is a paved trail that you could walk but we got there too late. The lighthouse it self wasn't open but I'm guessing people go there for the views more than the light house. Definitely recommend going if you love ocean scenery and serene places.

Helpful?
2 Thank 310dini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic place for a Picnic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

There are benches so close to the ocean that you can feel the ocean spray and watch the sun set over Catalina.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The most valuable hidden gem in Los Angeles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I think most people, even in LA, don't know how good this place is. It's better this way, because maybe it's good just because many people don't know that.

I often consider the Point Vicente as a mandatory stop in every bike ride I do over the PV peninsula. I can't name another place with so many qualities:

- It's a few miles from home, but feels like a place that's hours driving from home - even better than some places that are really a couple hours from LA, like Ventura or Santa Barbara;
- Not crowded, therefore tidy, and breathtakingly beautiful;
- Great for nature-themed pictures;
- With an excellent, free and well managed museum;
- It's free;
- You can see whales often (mostly gray whales, but even the blue whale sometimes) - it's a perfect observation point;
- Not only whales, but there's diverse fauna to photograph: birds (pelicans, falcons), rabbits, squirrels, even snakes (seriously);
- Great to visit by bike - easy access from Torrance/Redondo Beach or San Pedro;
- The lighthouse is open to the public one Saturday a month. It's no big deal, but interesting;
- Best place for picnic in LA in my opinion.

However, this place wouldn't be as good if it were crowded. So, it's best to keep it as a hidden gem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pvdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't pass it up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love that when you come to Rancho Palos Verdes Peninsula, and you drive along the Palos Verdes Drive to Terranea. You defiantly forget that you are in Los Angeles. You really should check out the Lighthouse. It is still the same as it was back when my Dad was little. really neat and the views are amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Vicente Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Point Vicente Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing