We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new fave for special treats!”
Review of mar'sel

mar'sel
Reserve with OpenTable
mar'sel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Palos Verdes Drive
torrance,ca
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My new fave for special treats!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Celebrated my son's birthday at Mar'sel and had a great time. The food was quite gourmet-we had most of the specials for that night and they were all equally wonderful.
Our waitress made the evening really special for us by suggesting food, wine, and drinks to go with our meals. She then followed us outside to take our pix by the firepit and had a nice talk with us. This really showed us that this place cares about their customers! We now have a new place to go for special occasions!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W.O.F.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful selections”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I had the duck breast on a bed of grapes and greens. Delicious.
Hubby had Sea Bass which he enjoyed

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank elizmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Poor selection of food on prix fixe Christmas menu. Appeared to be chef's attempt to show his gourmet talents at a time of year when families look forward to more traditional fare. The price was $95.00 pp for small portions and food pairings that either didn't complement or overpowered the delicacy of some ingredients.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive....most impressive service”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have to preface this review by saying we used a TravelZoo voucher. It cost us $79 for two for a dinner price of $179 +tip and extra drinks. They knew we were using a voucher and when we arrived a few minutes before our reservation we were immediately seated at a window table in a very busy room. Our waiter, Frank, stopped by very quickly and took our drink order (not included in the voucher) and returned literally in three minutes. Impressive...most impressive. He showed us the prix fixe menu and allowed us time to relax with our drinks. He was very attentive to our needs. Great waiter. My friend is very knowledgeable about wines and they chatted about wines by the glass. The dinner started off with a delightful charcuterie, then salads and entree. The dishes were wonderfully presented. The entrees were ok, nothing special. The desserts were also very pleasant. Overall, we spent a great two hours relaxing in a great atmosphere with great service and pretty good food. I have to be honest, I don't know what "ordering off the menu" food tastes like. Would I go back, yes, but only if using a voucher of some sort. Our drinner with before dinner cocktails, service charge/tip using the voucher came to $143. The 'regular' cost would have been well over $220.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainshadowsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Unbeatable Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Watching the Moon rise over the Palos Verdes Peninsula on a clear evening from a table at Mar'Sel should be on every romantic gourmets bucket list.
We started with Skate prepared with a puree of celeriac – simply a dazzling combination of flavors and a great opportunity to taste the rarely served member of the ray family. Lightly grilled Spanish Octopus followed with a chorizo and piquillo pepper accompaniment, superbly executed.
Our tasting menu moved on to Trumpet Mushrooms served with a creamy polenta ,a rich opulent dish which once again featured subtle nuances of texture and flavor which delighted.
We finished with chefs famous Wagyu beef which although off menu always seems to be there as a testament to the dish’s ability to seduce the taste buds and satisfy the soul.
A mélange of deserts featuring cereal milk ice cream – you have to try it – brought the meal to a delicious end and left us with the inevitable conclusion that for us Mar’Sel is the finest restaurant in Southern California for both food and ambience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mar'sel also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to mar'sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing