We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”

Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the Pacific coast, this beautiful church was designed by the son of Frank Lloyd Wright.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My friend had her wedding here. What a beautiful spot to build a chapel. 360 views of the pacific ocean and gorgeous trees all around, the chapel with its glass ceiling completely respects rather than obstructs nature. Standing in front of this chapel felt like being a the centre of the earth!!! Beautiful experience and one that I will always remember.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayaratna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    54
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dutchess county, ny
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never seen anything like it!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place is AMAZING! The Glass Chapel as well as the gardens are beautiful! Love the ocean views too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing sight”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been to the Glass chapel several times. This is a sight to be seen and is a great place for photo's. Some have selected this as a place for weddings and/or wedding photo's.

Helpful?
Thank travlinpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restful place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Beautiful and peaceful. Very scene. Absolutely amazing view of the Pacific from here, and you're surrounded by lush landscaping and beautiful roses.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There's more here than a view of the ocean”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First of all, let's call the architect by name, rather than saying that he was Frank Lloyd Wright's son. His name was Lloyd Wright.

I was amazed one Christmas Eve, when I went for a candlelight service. It was chilly outside, but when I walked into the chapel, it felt warm and pleasant. I sat down in a pew near the outer wall and discovered warmth coming from the stones and the floor. Ah... radiant heat. But this was built in 1951! (It was dedicated on May 13, 1951.)

I love the utter simplicity and the closeness to nature in this small sanctuary. It's open everyday and people stop in to meditate and to pray. I have done so on numerous occasions. I've brought visitors here and everyone has been enchanted with the serenity. We've all left smiling and feeling uplifted.

The gardens are also lovely.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ambersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing