We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Japanese food”

Asaka Japanese Cuisine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great Japanese food....with great value. Sashimi is excellent and the rolls are good as well. Kids menu is available so if is great for kids to dine with adults. Overall, food is great and must try them for the sashimi and rolls. Good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merv3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Awesome Food..Amazing View and Location Great Prices”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been to many places in the area, but Asaka beats them all. There are plenty of menu options and the food is excellent. The view is spectacular and the ambiance of the restaurant is great too. Service is excellent as well. Dinner for three including drinks was about $25-50 less than i expected so this was a pleasant surprise too

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Sushi... Awesome View!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had the occasion to eat at Asaka last night for about the fourth time. First review. Went there on a business trip with 9 in our party. This place just does things right. Every time I've gone the sushi is outstanding, fresh and innovative. One unique item that, in my view, is a must try, is the Sushi Burrito. I've never seen anything like before, anywhere. They use sesame soy paper for the wrap, then fill it with a variety of complimentary sushi, crab, vegetables and rice. As if that's not good enough, the magic is the three sauce blend they put on the plate and set the burrito upon. One sauce is a sort of creamy miso, right next to that is eel sauce then some home made red sauce that has some kick to it. The blend is fantastic.

Last night my wife and I split the Burrito for an appetizer, then she had the Peppered Tuna, and I had the Chilean Sea Bass. Both dishes were great. My sea-bass was not the traditional 2 inch thick cut you get at most places, but rather, was about 1" thick, basted with a miso glaze, then roasted in the oven until it was perfectly cooked and the glaze had a slight char (love that). Perfection. Both dishes served with white rice, which was also perfectly cooked.

The service does not disappoint and the 22 oz. Kirin Beer goes down smooth and compliments the food. There's just something about beer with sushi that works.

Lastly, and certainly not the least, is the amazing view from the restaurant. It sits right up on a hill across the street from the ocean. The vistas are nothing short of breathtaking, with views of Catalina Island. Last night we watched the Sun set into the ocean like a lemon drop... beautiful. On another trip, we sat on their amply comfortable patio, situated to catch the perfect ocean views. On that afternoon we saw pods of blue whales breaching in the ocean the entire time we were there.

Been there 4 times, and it's been just as good every single time. Keep up the great work, we'll be coming back for years to come. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“JAPANESE AMBIENCE & GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Everything is exceptional at this restaurant! Great service has excellent food . . FRESH! This restaurant has ambience! You will lovem this place. . .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and loved the saki bombs!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great place to come and enjoy some fantastic food and great environment. Right by the beach and a lot of other fun activities.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swatsonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asaka Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to Asaka Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing