We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort for a little getaway wee-end !”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
“Great resort for a little getaway wee-end !”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Living in Redondo Beach, 15 minutes away from the resort, it's a great place for us to go away and feel that we are going away while driving only 15 minutes... We really enjoy staying there over night and spending 2 full days by the pools and restaurants. Breathtaking views and friendly staff. The only downside is the price. The hotel rate & food are definitely on the expensive side.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,124
    552
    230
    121
    117
See reviews for
909
1,038
69
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The setting can not be beat, wonderful cliff side hotel with great views of the pacific.
The hotel fancies itself as a five star hotel and prices accordingly. Three star is more like it. The staff is young, not well seasoned. Nickel and dime you lots of extras. Clearly caters to large groups, weddings, families. They have a long way to go to be five star.
The dining is crowded, noisy, so is the lobby lounge, pools, and public areas. The public has access to the hiking paths and grounds and parking lot making for a challenge parking (at $20 a day) if you leave the hotel to go out. The icing on the cake for us was how noisy the hotel was. Even the adult pool only was blasting with music. The first night our room was flooded with noise coming from the lobby lounge until 11:30 at night. The following night the main ballroom had a band playing until 12:30 and guests lingering until after 1am. The wing that we stayed in faced the courtyard where the ballroom is and needless to say we could not hear our television, read, let alone sleep. The management left us with the impression that they do not care much for their paying hotel room guests rather cater to the groups and parties. Frankly, this hotel was a huge disappointment. If you like crowds, noise and a Las Vegas environment maybe you will enjoy this hotel. Otherwise, find yourself a real five star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artful9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Absolutely breathtaking grounds, picturesque scenery and walkways, stunning verandas, pools and grounds.

This is a top-notch facility. Its sprawling and covers a lot of area but it's easy enough to navigate. Rooms are plush and modern. Villa's overlooking the Pacific are remarkable.

Service was good+, not quite RC or FS level but far above most large convention center property's.

Three pools, one for family, one at the spa and one for adults only - all with fabulous views of the ocean. Little nine hole par 3 golf course on the grounds is well kept and a fun little pitch and put kind of course. $45 with club rentals.Incredible views, of course.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeansDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a great resort if you are looking for a place to go that you do not have to leave your entire visit. We booked a Villa and the moment we I walked though the door I new I wasn't going to want to leave. The room was beautiful although it was set I row back from the ocean and didn't have the view we were expecting. Woke up our second morning to ants all over the counter and we were able to move the second night to a room with a much better view. The spa was great, one of the best massages I have had. I loved sitting at the spa pool all day looking out at the ocean. The resort is set on cliffs along ocean and it felt a little like being on a cruise ship. The cabana boy was really nice but the service wasn't great. We asked for a menu and the waiter never returned before it was time for us to check in for our spa services. The only things missing were tennis courts and a real beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Beautiful isolated location, but extremely uneven service, bad management, and mediocre food. (think TGIFriday's, Olive Garden, etc) When we arrived, our room was not ready at the promised time, and we waited hours. We'd checked our bags with the bellman. Two of those bags did not arrive with the others. One bag eventually showed up, but only after we raised hell to get it. (And one of the valets, named "King" had the nerve to say to me: "We don't have the bag. What do you think about that?" What do I think? I think you'd better find it...) That last bag never showed up at all. Management offered to reimburse us for the missing bag, and our problems, but we weren't looking for a discount vacation; we wanted to relax someplace first-class. Our bungalow was lovely-no complaints about the room, but the maid service was uneven, and sometimes didn't replenish coffee, or empty the trash, etc. Room service was always prompt and professional, but we were surprised that the fare was very mundane, and we couldn't order from the better hotel restaurants. Strange. The spa was clean and pretty, but when I arrived for a massage appointment, things went downhill fast. There was complete confusion about my name, and the time and duration of the appt. Finally, I thought we'd straightened it out. I waited in the lounge for the masseuse to call me at 4 pm. 4:10, 4:20 passed, and no one came. Finally at 4:30, a full half hour after the appointed time, I gave up and left. I received conflicting reports of why the masseuse couldn't take me on time: He was "cleaning up his space", and "Well, we can't just end the previous appointment "just like that' (snap of the fingers). Why make appointments at all then?? Weird, weird, weird. FINALLY, the spa director offered to comp me another massage the next day. And the next day, when I arrived, everything went fine, and the massage was decent. But who wants to go through all that to get normal service? WE WANTED TO RELAX AT A FIRST CLASS RETREAT, AND THIS WAS NOT THAT. We will not go back. Who needs all that stress at a resort???

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank haleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Came on a business conference Aug 7, 2010. Everyone was "above and beyond friendly" and helpful. Beautiful rooms, lobby, pools, spa, etc. Had an partial ocean view and was spectacular. We have traveled all over the world and this is truly a gorgeous place to stay. Loved the adult and spa pool. The spa services were top notch, don't miss a day here. Close to the LAX airport and to all attractions. Went to the Getty Art Museum one day and it truly is a wonderful facility. Concierge recommended the Zazou restaurant in Redondo Beach. They treated us like royalty. The food and service were outstanding. Would return there without a doubt if we are anywhere close to this area again. You won't be disappointed in this resort. Mar sel Restaurant on the property was very good also.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I loved this place! The views were spectacular, the service was great, and we didn't even leave the resort once during our stay. The property offered several delicious restaurants, and multiple fun activities including the pool, the beach, yoga class, and walking/running trails. There was even a separate pool for adults with food and beverage service. I hope to get to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEpstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing