We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pebble Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A great location for a romantic get away, corporate retreat or small convention.

The rooms were large, beautiful views of the ocean & sunsets.

The only problem was that our shower leaked onto the floor (into the glass toilet enclosure) - ARGH, wet socks!

The walls are thin. We enjoyed the activities of the couple next door. We don't think that they slept all week.

Very friendly staff. Everyone has a CAN DO attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner grass/terrace area are noisy from restaurants and events on the terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,207
    575
    244
    123
    122
See reviews for
943
1,089
72
768
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a relaxing six days here! From the glass of champagne at check in to our reluctant departure, we enjoyed excellent service in a relaxed atmosphere that caters to guests of all ages, including families with children and dogs!
We had a memorable gourmet Valentine's dinner on the patio at Mar' sel, with a view of the stars and ocean. Enjoyed sunset with dinner at Nelson's. Tried Catalina Kitchen for breakfast, very casual Sea Beans for breakfast and lunch, and Bashi for dinner. Each offered a wide range of options, wonderful food. Service at Nelson's, a casual seaside place, can drag a little during peak times. But then, this is a resort, not a fast food place! The patio of the Lobby Bar was another relaxing place to enjoy the sunset!
We had a patio room in the hotel facing the oceanside--could just walk out to see the sunrise! It was a great location--my husband could get to his business conference quickly and easily and I could sit out on the patio working and reading! Our room was sparkling clean, quiet and well-appointed.
The resort has extensive walking trails both along the ocean and around the golf course which are connected to other trails along the coast and offers scheduled activities for adults and children. We observed whales spouting and dolphins leaping, as well as many birds. Bring your binoculars! A nature center is within walking distance--interesting place for both children and adults.
We flew into Long Beach and had an easy drive to Terranea--if you can do Long Beach airport, we recommend it--much less hassle than LAX.
Looked at some of the negative reviews before our trip and did not find their experiences to be our experience--and our stay included a very busy Valentine's Day weekend! Everyone at Terranea was polite, friendly and customer-service oriented. The Resort Ambassador, Louis Maldonado, is a real charmer who goes all out to make sure guests are well treated!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the hotel--rooms near the outdoor pool may be rather noisy when the weather is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a beautiful place. Our first time here an it was very nice. The hotel is beautiful with breathtaking views an great trails for taking walks. The staff is very nice here an always smiling. Great service in the restaurants an food was always good. The rooms are very nice an beds very comfortable. We had an ocean view room very close to everything so we didn't have to walk far, which was nice. The spa is a must if you stay. I had a facile an a pedicure an it was great. They also have great variety on massages which I would have loved to try. Also if you golf it's golf course is great. All in all I loved this resort an would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is close to everything so you don't have to walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Denise,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the spa and golf course. It sounds like you had a nice time! We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This past weekend my Husband and I stayed at Terranea as the final stop on our 40th wedding anniversary vacation. As my husband said countless times, we truly saved the best for last. Our suite allowed us the opportunity to Whale watch right from our balcony, and was beautifully appointed. The walking trails allowed for an after dinner stroll, which had been executed perfectly in our room earlier our first evening. I highly recommend breakfast in bed as well to spoil yourself one day, but the Brunch at Catalina Kitchen is a must try. The eggs benedict are fantastic and for an after brunch treat, the Bloody Mary's served poolside are a favorite. While the location and views are second to none, it is the warm heartfelt service that sets Terranea apart. Matt, our Bellman was so personable and friendly, remembering us from previous stays and making sure to acknowledge our anniversary. He was just one of the many wonderful staff that we love to see when we come to Terranea. Not only did we feel like royalty, we felt like family and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The Sheerwater Suites at the Resort are stunning. They provide elegant comfort with spectacular vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a GEM of a property and I loved all aspects of the Terranea Resort….the location, the staffs attention to detail, the comfortable rooms and bedding, the incredible banquet food (…just over the top delicious), the service during the banquets, and the delightful meals that I enjoyed at the restaurants the Catalina Kitchen, The Lobby Bar, Cielo Point, and Sea Beans.

I am a frequent traveler and I really enjoyed the cove area for recreating on my own paddle board, but loved the options with the Kayaking and the lovely hiking trails around the resort grounds. It was exciting to see the amount of guests enjoying this part of the property and taking advantage of those areas. I was also able to enjoy a yoga class at the fitness center and really enjoyed the quality of the work out equipment available to the guests.

I absolutely treasured my golf experience…the staff was so accommodating, the equipment rental was in mint condition and the course was breathtaking and challenging (and loved that I was able to par a few holes…my goodness those greens were FAST!) These outdoor options are fantastic experiences for any pleasure or meeting trip and gives the guest a coastal and resort wow factor!

Close and convenient to LAX and enjoying the best parts of California!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a ground floor room for easy access to the pathways and all of the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is really a great property, the rooms are a bit plain for the high rating but the food is excellent and the staff really make a great experience for the guest. Everyone is super helpful and friendly the prices are in line for the area and I really enjoyed our stay. Stu at the golf course (excellent short game practice) Kevin at the concierge were particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We purchased a golfing voucher for 2 from Amazon Local for Fri, Sat or Sun play and I am so glad we did. The 9 hole course is CRAZY challenging. A lot of sand bunkers to get around and very tricky greens. We played horribly, but you can't complain when you have the Pacific Ocean laid out in front of you. Every employee we came in contact with was helpful and happy to answer all our questions. The golfing staff unloaded our bags, put them on the carts and kept us inform of when to be ready to tee off. Great selection of merchandise in the pro shop, especially for the ladies. And the best part: Nobody looked down at us when we presented the 1/2 off voucher. Just be prepared to pay at least $12 for a cocktail and if you want to eat at Nelson's, get ready to pay $20 for a burger. We decided not to eat at Nelson's because we thought our money was better spent having a couple of cocktails in the hotel bar.

Room Tip: We only went for the day to golf. We did not get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,355 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,565 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,154 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
700 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing