We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, despite a rocky start....”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding, despite a rocky start....”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Took a weekend spa package at Terranea between Christmas and New Year for a little R&R. The property is really lovely. Very well maintained and well located, right on the bluff overlooking the ocean. Check in was good, valet and bell service excellent. We had an unfortunate incident regarding the cleaning of the bathroom which we discovered when we got to the room, which was - let's just say - unfortunately incomplete. I mention this for two reasons; first in all honesty it's part of the service to expect that that doesn't happen when paying the kind of money we're paying for the stay. But more importantly, to acknowledge the response of the management, which was outstanding. After notifying the front desk, we had a visit from the desk manager, who seemed genuinely mortified and showed us two options for a room change, one of which was an available suite. We stuck with our original room class, which was an Ocean View king, which is a nicely appointed room with a really nice view of the ocean and sunrise. The management also threw in a resort credit for the trouble, which was good. In short, the response made up for the issue and we were left with the impression that our experience in the first room was a genuine aberration. So on we went with our weekend. We had two days to enjoy the spa, and had booked two couples massages, one for each day. The spa itself is very nice, probably the best of any along the coast from San Diego up to LA that I have been at. It's largely segregated (which, being European still seems odd, but that's the norm in the US, I guess), with good amenities on each side; sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, but with a nice pool just for the spa, and a great patio with a view out over the ocean. Added bonus was that this weekend was the biggest whale migration weekend of the year to date, so we had a full show of whales, seals and dolphins all afternoon, right off the bluff. The massage room was nicely appointed, and the massages were decent, although one was significantly better than the other.

We ate lunch at the spa both days and it was good and the servers were very pleasant. We had dinner the first night at Mar'Sel, which was very good indeed. Good service, good food and a very decent wine list. Highly enjoyable. We had a quick drink and a burger on the way out the next day at Nelson's as well. Typical bar food. Exactly as expected. In-room breakfast was also very good, and unusually for room service food, was actually hot on arrival!

So, all in all, despite a rocky start, we had a really nice time at Terranea, and we will go back. Kudos to Lee, the manager who responded so well to the initial issue, and to management in general, who really seem to pay attention to detail on the property. This is not an inexpensive place to spend a few days, but it was worth it. I have only one question, which I have for all high end US hotel/resorts, which is; What is the purpose of the "Resort Fee"? I really don't understand it. It always feels like stealth taxation at the end of a stay. We're already paying not insignificant amounts for the pleasure of being at the property and using the amenities. If you need to raise the price $30 per day, just put it in the room rate.

Room Tip: "Ocean Side" rooms do have a much better view than the "Ocean View" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofarreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    561
    235
    121
    119
See reviews for
924
1,064
71
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
573 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stopped by for brunch while scouting locations for hotels for a wedding. The brunch was excellent, service was great, and probably the best Eggs Benedict I ever had. Everyones meal was great, good salads and burgers too. Nice spot for a sunday brunch. They had a buffet which looked nice, but it was too much food for me that day. I would recommend for breakfast/brunch. Nice views to walk around an work off the meal too. Worth a stop on the drive thru the Palos Verdes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Resort property was as beautiful and dramatic as anyone could imagine, set high on a bluff over the Pacific, and looking across at Catalina Island. Resort service was excellent from start to finish, from when presented with glass of champagne when checking in until you leave, but for the prices this is what one would expect. Plenty to do so that you never want to leave the resort. Excellent spa, but resort prices. Only negative was poor service at upscale restaurant and understaffed lobby bar. Resort also dog friendly, and it was nice that the lobby bar allowed cigar smoking on the outside patio. All rooms with private balconies. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you like views, pay the upgrade for a full ocean view room, south end overlooks a beautiful cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GateHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for a weekend getaway. We booked an Oceanview room and got a 1/4 partial view. Room was nice. Service at the lounge/bar was very slow and over priced. $25 for a glass of wine! Dinner at Mar'cel was just ok. The best thing of the weekend was the Spa. It is really nice and Angela gave me one of the best massages, she was amazing!
An hour away from home, wanted to try something new. Won't be back. Should of gone to Bacara again. Same prices but you get what you pay for there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovinlife818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Lovinlife818,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. If there is anything you would like to discuss further or if there is something we can assist with, please email us at terraneasocial (at) destinationhotels .com. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here, had work meetings here, used the 9 hole golf course and eaten at some of the restaurants. The location is spectacular, though it can be foggy May - July. It's very un-LA, but like a resort on the Big Island, there isn't much within 15 minutes if you want to eat outside the resort.

The par 3 course is a hidden gem with Pebble-like views. The restaurants, particular Nelson's down on the bluff, are overpriced as you'd expect in a resort, though Nelson's takes that to a new level for very average bar fare. Bashi has a good menu and is kid friendly in the early evening, though the food is more adult.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The resort does nickle and dime for parking and a resort fee, which to me is odd at this price point. There are nice walking trails, and the resort sits on a exceptionally popular local biking and running route (Palos Verdes Drive).

It beats the Ritz Half Moon Bay in weather, views and location. HMB service and restaurants are a notch above, as the Terranea is not quite at Ritz or Four Seasons level, though its very close.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pops94303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

high end hotel at a 3rd of the cost. well keep secret in Palos Verdes , i call it rural los Angeles. the view from Terreneas decks are awesome you look at the pacific ocean with Catalina island 26 miles away its breath taking world class food and spa. the staff is very friendly and helpful the property is amazing,best views you can find .enjoy a long weekend of r and r,the 9 hole golf course is absolutely beautiful and challenging. 30 minutes to lax, 1 hour to rodeo drive and staples center . enjoy the new year at terrenea resort

Room Tip: the suites are very comfortable, the higher floor have better views casitas and villas perfect for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This resort was absolutely spectacular and extremely luxurious. We really felt like we were VIP’s and received brilliant service while staying at Terranea. Our bungalow was large and modern. It was very romantic having champagne on the balcony overlooking the ocean. In the morning we had room service delivered by two friendly individuals (Rhea and Jose) who placed the meal on the balcony for us and it was a wonderful way to start of our day.
The swimming pool and water slide looked like lots of fun but didn’t have time to use them so they will have to wait until next time. Nelsons was a great experience and the cocktails in the lobby bar were delicious, our waitress was real friendly. Oh and there team in Sea Beans were a lot of fun and made getting a coffee an enjoyable experience. I think Kevin, Elias and Caitlin were their names.
I have stayed at over 100 hotels all over the world and this is certainly one of my favorites and I can’t wait to return there in the near future for a longer period of time! Thank you very much for allowing us to have such a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Bungalows near the water and the view was exceptional. It was extremely spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,266 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,142 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing