We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Views and Attentive Staff Made for a Great Conference Experience Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views and Attentive Staff Made for a Great Conference Experience Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at Terranea Resort for a business conference two nights in late October 2013. The staff was friendly and attentive, the grounds were neat and clean, the views (when the sun came out) were fantastic, which all made for a great conference experience. Would highly recommend this resort for business conferences, cannot speak to the leisure activities.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms may require a bit of a hike from the lobby, but are well worth the trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGuy60031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    437
    187
    93
    89
See reviews for
682
836
53
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The real estate that the hotel sits on is nice. The Hotel is not, The food is terrible!! Overall it feels like a cheesy time share, Sorry Terranea you need to try harder, Much Harder.
If you're looking for a relaxing spot near Los Angeles, this is NOT the place.
If you're looking for a fun spot to enjoy the Ocean you'll have to use the pool.
If you're looking for a great spa you won't find it at Terranea
It's a good place to stop and look at the view for a minute or two but Not to Stay.

Room Tip: A good room would be at any other hotel...pick one just south in Laguna Beach or north in Santa Moni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Peter,
We are sorry to read this. We have replied to your Yelp review asking for more details regarding your stay, but we have yet to hear from you. We hope you will reach out so we can assist. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is such a beautiful resort. Views of ocean from every room. Champagne upon checkin. Rooms are pretty with balcony comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. Attended a wedding which was outside on a bluff facing the ocean. Cocktails on a terrace for a spectacular sunset and to dinner in the ballroom. The only disappointment is having to leave. Will be back again soon

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Look - I like Terranea as much as the next guy but.... they've got a raccoon problem. We saw 3 come out of the trees and go into the sewer by the main parking attendant. Then we saw one strolling the main thoroughfare right next to us as we dined at Bashi. Others mentioned they saw them come out of the bushes in the pool area. Yikes!

This place is a gem - but apparently they need a full time trapper until the problem is fixed. If that's what we saw in the short time we were there - can only imagine how bad the problem is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massasoit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was my third trip to the Terranea Resort.....and it was my best trip yet! All trips have been memorable, but this time I secured a one bedroom casita with a full kitchen and living room, just steps away from the cliff and the Pacific Ocean. This room was truly amazing! The kitchen was totally top-of-the-line.....even the stove was a Viking (never seen that before in a hotel room). And outside the sliding glass door was a fire pit, a perfect spot to watch the sun go down. The bedroom was quiet and conducive to a good night's sleep, the only sound being the ocean waves hitting the beach. The grounds were quite beautiful with superb pool areas and a spectacular golf course. The walk to the lighthouse is well worth the time. The only downside to this hotel is that it is expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for a Casita suite on the Pacific Ocean.....but be prepared to pay for the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Only got to stay here 1 night, but it is a gorgeous property with views to match. The service was so so, with them not being able to check us in on time & the restaurant service being slow. Bottom line, I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked an oceanfront room. While we did have a nice view of the ocean, we were set back a considerable distance from the bluff. We stayed in one of the casitas, and we really enjoyed that. It was very quiet and parking is available near the room. We had to walk to reach the hotel amenities, but we did not mind at all as the walk is so lovely!

Room Tip: The casitas are away from the ballrooms and restuarants and nice and quiet. Very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,529 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing