We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning views, great property, but still overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great property, but still overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First I'll say that you will want for nothing at this property. It is its own village. It's beautiful, relaxing, and you feel like you really are getting away from it all. It has an expansive layout and they work hard to allow those with kids to enjoy a kid-friendly atmosphere and those without them to be able to almost completely forget that it's a kid-friendly resort. I haven't even mentioned the food---absolutely delicious. Every meal was fantastic with only one minor exception (but I think that had more to do with the fact that my husband didn't truly understand what kind of dish Huevos Rancheros was). And the spa....first rate absolutely. And if my massage therapist Jose worked anywhere near my home I could see myself going bankrupt getting massages from him so often. I can't recommend him highly enough--and I'm fairly picky when it comes to massages.

Additionally, they have the coolest water slide at the kid's pool!! I'm 32 years old, but I was squealing with delight as I rocketed down that curvy slide! I'm serious. If you lay completely flat and cross your legs and cross your arms over your chest you can get up to some shockingly high speeds! It is, admittedly difficult to put a price on getting to be a kid again.

They also have live music entertainment throughout the property--which was really fun.

However, it seems that the property uses a business model which operates by jacking up the prices to insane amounts and then making lots of "discount packages" available for purchase that seem to take the sting out of the price. However, when you examine the fine print the packages don't include certain things, of course don't include gratuities (which can really be exorbitant when you are paying a percentage of the original price), and just seem to have a lot of carefully placed limits and exclusions. Additionally, despite the fact that we had this package we did have to remind the front desk of several items that should have, in fact, been included that they issued as charges on the final bill. It was worked out quickly and without issue, however.

Just to give a couple examples of the prices, a 60 minute massage (though heavenly) is just under $200 not even including the 20% tip that is automatically added on (and well deserved! but still a pricey one hour massage!). Despite the fact that the property is located in the middle of nowhere and there is more than enough parking, SELF PARKING is something like $25 a night.

So ultimately, it is a very high quality place that I would expect to pay a premium for. However, even as fantastic as it was it did seem overpriced and it seemed that one had to be very mindful of the charges and follow-up to ensure accurate billing. But if you are the kind of person that finds it difficult to relax during a standard vacation and you really want and need to truly get away from it all....AND you have a very healthy budget for said getaway....then this is your spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clavicle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    472
    205
    101
    102
See reviews for
767
902
59
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Terranea is a great place to go for a weekend. Within the resort there are many ways to relax. The Spa pool and adult pool are great. The general pool if you are traveling with young children.

Palos Verdes is a ways from Los Angeles/South Bay attractions and restaurants so the vacay is really within the resort itself. Trump National Golf Course is close by if you are a golfer. There several restaurant choices. Nelsons has a wonderful fire pit and is sea side casual with good food.
.
The bungalows are great and located cliff side with beautiful views and close to the spa pool, Nelsons, and the work out center.
A tad pricey but a calm weekend getaway.

Room Tip: When reserving a room make a point of asking for one that does not overlook the children's pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

PROS: Beautiful location

CONS: Service, rooms, and inconvenient "beach"

Rooms: For the price of our "oceanview" room (most oceanview Waikiki rooms are cheaper) we expected to have a great view. First room they took us to was probably 1/4 mile walk from front desk on the ground level room with only a peek at the ocean. Second room had view totally obstructed due to trees. Third room, which we were not moved to until 4PM the next day, still was a lot less than what I expected and nothing like the pictures. We never asked for nor were offered anything to compensate us for moving twice.

We were part of a wedding party that had used a group rate, and it seemed that many others that attended the wedding complained of similar experiences. One couple did not even receive the class or type of room they had reserved and were offered no compensation. I think hotel management figures that once you are there for the wedding that they "have you". Also, the walk to the rooms through hallways with stained carpet and cheesy wallpaper (think cheap Vegas hotel) and the rooms themselves could easily belong to any run of the mill hotel chain--not what I was expecting for the price. What is with the 1980's headboards and cheap paintings?

Service: The multiple room moves and the attitude of the front desk staff were just the beginning. It is a waste of time to valet your car here because they are extremely understaffed and it takes forever (15+ minutes) to get your car when you want to leave. Unlike most hotels, calling down beforehand does not seem to help. Lastly, as indicated by previous reviewers, the pool service is a joke. I walked up to the makeshift bar to try to get service and was told to sit down and someone would come help me. I waited 15 minutes and then walked up again and insisted on ordering at the bar, just ridiculous.

Oh yeah, room was not cleaned at all one day. Overall, staff clearly did not care.

Beach: Nice rocky beach, but not really worth the effort. Everyone we spoke to was disappointed by the beach. Better off getting in your car and driving to one of the much nicer beaches nearby (which we did).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

If you want to get away from the city and feel like you have really escaped, this is a great choice. Great views of the ocean and very secluded. It is the only hotel near LA that has a similar feel to the Orange County beachfront hotels like the Montage, St. Regis, and Ritz hotels in Laguna. I would rate the Montage as the best by far. Terranea is very nice, but is way overpriced at $600 for a regular room. I'll pay that much to stay at the Montage, but the Terranea is not up to that level. Sure it is a beautiful property, but the service and rooms are not true 5 star, more of a 4 star hotel. It is more on par with the St. Regis. Still a nice place, just overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you can grab a good deal at this resort it is definitely worth staying a few nights. Was upgraded to an ocean view suite, with 2 balconies and fantastic views of the pool and ocean. You can avoid the parking (valet and self) charges by parking in the public beach parking lot which saves a bit of money. Breakfast was good with a varied choice of items although as the stay spanned a weekend it was very busy on the Saturday, both in the restaurant and by the pool. I would try and stay mid week if I were to visit California again, and book early to get a good deal. Had a round of 9 holes at the links (golf course on resort) which was fun but pricey!

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Terranea Resort is an experience that takes you away from the real world. The drive from the freeway to Terranea is about 20 minutes and as the drive gets closer to the resort, the houses are gorgeous, the views are magical and the tranquility sets in as you drive up. The resort is massive. Be prepared to walk all over the property and wear comfortable shoes. The resort sits on top of the bluffs which overlooks the Pacific Ocean. There is a spa, multiple pools, many niches to lounge, sit and talk with a cocktail, or just sit and relax. The service is better than the last time I was here, making you feel comfortable. The rooms are elegant, clean and extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend visiting for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDCNECSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My stay here was very nice. The room was nice. The view wasn't that great unless you went out on the porch area. I guess I didn't pay enough for a good ocean view? The food at the restaurants was very good. During the time I was here the weather was great, a bit foggy in the mornings, but it burned off quickly. The staff was very nice and helpful. I found the added cost of parking to be way too much money. I did use room service, as with any place it takes for ever to get your food once you've ordered over the phone. Overall I'd stay here again. I would however suggest they figure out a way to included the added fees in the room price so the total cost is more transparent before you book. The location is great, but you can also drive to local areas to eat and sight-see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing