We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see Resort.”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this Resort. The ocean views are magnificent. The service is great. I've seen whales almost every visit. The Spa is beautiful and relaxing. This resort offers everything from a quiet getaway to a family fun trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Snssr,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to read about your time at Terranea. We appreciate your support and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,577 - 2,583 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We wanted a family get away for a few days within a couple of hours from our home without fighting airports with our three kids. The casita was incomparable allowing a little privacy at times from the kids. The "walk to" tide pools sucked the stress out of life. We couldn't keep the kids out of the beautiful main pool and found the adult pool relaxing while still a short distance to keep an eye on the kids. The restaurants were diverse and fantastic. This made it possible to not keep leaving the resort to eat. We are fortunate to be in the position to visit a number of resorts and it doesn't get better than this. Views, service, food and accomodations are all first class.

Room Tip: The casitas are incomparable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the resort for one night to go and relax. It did not happen. The hotel was busy and the family pool was busy with kids so we went down to the adult pool to relax. After sitting there for about an hour, they started to blast music and converted this quiet adult pool area into some night club atmosphere. The only other choice was the spa pool but I guess the other guests in the hotel know about this and every single chair at the spa pool was taken. It was not a quiet, relaxing day.
The hotel should advertise that this is not a quiet hotel but that they are trying to make it Las Vegas. If I wanted Las Vegas, I would go to Las Vegas.
Also about the rooms. For some reason the bathroom doors are not solid doors but doors with openings in them so you can hear everything going on in the bathroom from the room. So if someone has to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you hear everything.
Overall, not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Familytraveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Familytraveler5000,
We are sorry to read about your experience. As you mention, we are a popular summer vacation destination for families and couples, and we would like to apologize that the activity of the resort disrupted your stay. Our adults-only pool, Cielo Point, does have a DJ that plays on the weekends and contributes to a lively scene. The Spa Pool has a very relaxed and tranquil atmosphere that sounds best suited for your weekend desires. We have noted your comments regarding the lounge chairs and will bring this to the attention of the spa manager so we can make sure we are able to accommodate all of guests needs and provide the vacation they are looking for. If there are other suggests you have from your stay with us, we would like to hear them. Please direct message us or email us at terraneasocial (at) destinationhotels .com at any time. Thank you for your visit and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in the entire USA. It's near where I grew up, so it feels like a great homecoming every time.

Whether it's lounging by the pool, tide pooling, shopping in the boutiques (I recommend the Lunada Bay tee shirt - a true 'locals only' purchase, with these only available at another small boutique in the area), or hiking to the light house and along the coast with the kids, this place is great. The morning ritual of coffee on the patio and watching for dolphins to swim by is pretty addicting.

As a tip, bring binoculars - great for watching the cargo ships go by and dolphin watching.

I'm going back in two weeks for a business trip and can't wait.

Room Tip: If you can swing a Casita - I highly recommend one. It's great to have a kitchen with laundry (k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The views are the draw at this resort. The spa is A+. I had a wonderful facial, my aesthologist was knowlegeable and personable, the surroundings were serene. I was there on a business trip with my husband in early June, and the events were beautifully executed, altho probably by an outside firm.

However, rooms were unremarkable and very far away from the lobby. In fact the entire resort is extremely spead out, doable only for the very fittest. Good news, Dave with his various vehicles is avaiable to drive you anywhere, even 6 miles off site.

Restaurants are certainly not 5*. The casual restaurant of a Seahunt theme was just that...casual, best for lunch. Breakfast cafe was pleasant but pricey, a little disorganized and bland food. The fanciest restaurant was good but nothing terrific.

Bottom line, it's a long long way to travel to see the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pami46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were concerned about booking this hotel, being that they have run specials through Groupon.
They have a good kid slide and our last stay, all though there were a few issues, was not that bad.
We arrived at 1pm and got settled at the pool by about 3pm. We were not there 10 minutes and the Lifeguard said they had to close the slide so he could go to lunch... For us to come back in an hour... This is the whole reason we came to this hotel. After the lifeguards return, about 30 12 yr old boys came into the pool area with some sort of day camp. They were loud, disrespectful and created a huge line at the slide. We saw one of the kids push a toddler down. 4th of July they past out wristbands to keep the locals out. The only problem is the attendant left the wristbands on the table and stepped away twice and both time kids ran in and stole them and ran to give them to there friends. Very disorganized... Kids meal at the Four Seasons
is $9.00, Terranea's Catalina kitchen it is $14... which we feel is gouging for mac n cheese.
Probably would not try this hotel again unless we got it for under $150 night... It is not worth $500+/ night

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Epic3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Epic3333,
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay. We have passed on your comments about the pool lifeguard, kids camp, and the wristbands. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and we will use your entire review to improve. We are pleased to read that you enjoy our main pool’s slide and we hope you will come back to use it! If you have any additional suggestions that will help us improve, please direct message us or email us. Our email address is terraneasocial (at) destinationhotels .com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just short distance from Los Angeles, there is a piece of heaven, Terenea. It is an elegant oceanfront resort with 270 degree view of the ocean. Beautiful Mediterranean environment with breathtaking views of the Point Vicente Lighthouse and Catalina Island creates romantic mood and lifts one’s spirit. Rooms are very comfortable. If you want to indulge yourself in fine dining after golfing or swimming in the pool, you do not have to go far. Terrenea has four beautiful restaurants facing the ocean. My favorite restaurant is Mar’sel. The menu is great, and wine selection is impressive. It was very beautiful to dine el fresco, and service was impeccable. Life cannot be better!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
47 reviews
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,674 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $333 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing