We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth!”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If your idea of a vacation is to enjoy relaxation, stunning views, be pampered or hike down trails look no further ..Terranea is simply beautiful! The hotel is located on a hillside. at the topof the hill is the hotel lobby, convention center and rooms. Surrounding the hotel on the hillside are series of quaint private villas that overlook the most beautiful full frontal view of the Pacific Ocean. Trails around the hilly property lead you to the villas, hiking trails and a great reasonably priced sports bar that offers a stunning sunset view. Here you can watch whales, dolphins and wildlife dancing and doing their acrobatic shows in the water!
My room was inside the hotel on the 4th floor and on the oceanside. The view was simply gorgeous!! The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Lulhy,
That sounds like our idea of a vacation! Thank you very much for providing your feedback, we really appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,692 - 2,698 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wonderful hotel at a great location! A truly memorable experience!
Our stay was for one night only. But for that 20 hour plus stay we had a fabulous dinner, a good night's sleep, a fabulous view from our room and an enjoyable breakfast the next morning. After breakfast we enjoyed a hike along the cliffs of the Palos Verde Peninsula!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the near future!

Room Tip: We're sure all the rooms are an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandhopper780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My family and I were lucky enough to stay here for 3 days and 2 nights as a very gracious birthday gift in Feb. 2012 (I personally would never pay $400+ a night for ANY hotel).

Since our stay here I compare all customer service interactions to this as I've never experienced this level of friendly, helpful service before. The staff did everything they could to make sure we comfortable and 100% satisfied at all times.

The room was classically decorated (fresh white linens, soothing colors, and modern enough so that it won't start to feel dated anytime soon). The room (and entire property for that matter) was spic and span. And the robes... oh, the robes... *sigh*

We loved the large soaking tub. If you've read my other reviews you'd know we like to SOAK and this bathroom was the place to do it!

We ordered room service two times and ate at one of the restaurants two times. I thought the food was divine. Definitely try the lobster roll.

There are trails to hike and practically everywhere you go on the property, including your room, there is a gorgeous ocean view. On our last day there we hit up the water slide (so fun for kids). Our son also played in the spray fountain and made sand castles in the sand pit. Lastly, we took a trip to the hot tub and just took in the view of the ocean and Catalina.

I would recommend Terranea to anyone as long as you can afford it. We just might splurge and stay here again on our honeymoon (if we can afford it after the wedding, that is!). There is honestly not a negative thing to be said.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed in one of the Villas along the golf course for a weekend, and it was a great experience. The staff is incredibly helpful, and what a wonderful location! The weather was great, and there's so much to do. There are plenty of walks to go on, and Terranea offers all sorts of other activities. The beach was wonderful, and Palos Verdes is a really cute area. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrustmeIknow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear TrustmeIknow11,
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed reading about your experience and we are very happy to hear that you had a nice time at Terranea! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

In Rancho Palos Verdes you can escape from the hustle and bustle of Downtown LA and see the California coastline. A beautiful day can find you in paradise where you can escape the rugged cold of the North. Temperatures in the winter are similar to summer temperatures in Vancouver, B.C., ie., 70s to 90s on the coast. You will see California as it actually is with its tropical, watered areas and rugged desert bluffs. Be prepared for colder days too as cooler temperatures can prevail. Aesthetically appealing with marvelous views and fine homes.

Room Tip: Book ahead for sure as hotels in California can be difficult to find and sometimes expensive. The T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireflyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I wanted to explore this resort before we took the plunge and stayed overnight. We went hiking first in the hills above, then went for lunch at the Terranea (parking is $10.00). We ate at the Catalina restaurant and it was delicious. The prices are the usual for fine hotel dining, including $5.00 for a cup of coffee. But the ambience, the views, the service is so perfect, that it was worth every penny. We walked the grounds after lunch on the bluff trail overlooking the ocean, the gorgeous grounds have different walking paths. There are a few different pools and jacuzzis for the guests. There are also firepits and Nelson's, which is another restaurant away from the main hotel. We saw several people waiting for the sunset while sitting outside having drinks and snacks. We were there on a Sunday so saw a couple of receptions. Catalina Island was visiible, but we didn't see any whales. We're now planning to return to stay and savor all that the Terranea has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Located about 40 minutes south of LA perched on the oceanfront this fantastic resort brings you just around 5 star everything. My only negative comment is about the food at a couple of the numerous cafes etc on the property. I had mexican served to me once too many times for an international traveler. I was there as part of a large work group and that might have added to it however my accommodation in one of the casita was wonderful. I had a great experience at the spa and can highly recommend Shelly for a massage there. The grounds are extensive with wonderful vistas everywhere you look. The staff were polite and exceedingly helpful at every opportunity. If you want to be pampered or just get away from everything for a weekend, this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: the casitas are away from the main building, quiet and give you a sense of being much more on your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,655 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
47 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
153 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $383 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing