We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of November for a conference/long weekend. My husband had requested an ocean view and we were given one of the casitas with a nice view of the grounds and ocean. The room was a generous size, the bathroom was awesome--plenty of room- with a tub and separate shower, and the grounds around us were quiet. We had nice meals at both Catalina Kitchen and Nelsons and, while both were always busy in the evening, we had pretty short waits to be seated. I spent each morning at Sea Beans with my chai latte and the staff there was very friendly and helpful. Afterwards, I'd walk the trails along the cliff. You really can't beat these views. Just breathtaking!

I

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staceyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,887 - 2,893 of 3,703 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

By booking a room at Terranea, I avoided staying with the in-laws. That should be reason enough to rank the resort with more than five circles, if that were possible. But dissecting that consideration out the evaluation, we did have a great stay. The Oceanside Room's view was spectacular. Having grown up in Palos Verdes (PV), but now living in New England, I had forgotten how beautiful the PV can be. From a geographical and historical perspective, Terranea is situated on the far side of the Peninsula on the former site of Marineland of the Pacific and near the former site of Japanese American farmland where, until the 1980s, some of the juiciest strawberries to be had anywhere were produced. That the resort is on the far side means that there are panoramic views of Catalina Island, Point Vincente lighthouse, and the surrounding cliffs. However, its location also tacks on at least 15 minutes to trips elsewhere in the LA area. While there's are some shopping areas and restaurants elsewhere in PV, the selection is limited. Therefore, contented visitors are those who are okay with relaxing poolside, enjoying the setting, playing some golf, taking walks, and dining at the several nice restaurants on the premises. It worked for us. One complaint: the parking charge is rather exorbitant considering the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Count yourself lucky if you end up here on a business trip. I was there in November and while the weather wasn't perfect for only one day. I loved the place. Overall facility and location are among the best I've experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanInAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Terranea. The service was five star! Many thanks to Bianca Santos for making our 25th anniversary so memorable. We loved every minute of our visit! We were in a casita and had the most breathtaking view. I love everything about Terranea. We live locally, but feel like we are so far away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treeniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Treeniek,
Thank you for your review and happy anniversary! We will certainly pass on your kind words to Bianca and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is about the best I have seen in a while. It definitely is a good if not better than a lot of four seasons I have stayed at.

The food was out of this world and I would highly recommend going there over a weekend so you can taste both the Saturday and Sunday brunches.!

There are 3 pools: 1 for the family, 1 just for the adults and 1 for the laps.

The view is breath taking !

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed several nights attending a work conference, so I can not speak to costs, but the resort was absolutely stunning! I can not imagine a more beautiful place to stay in California. The ocean views, pools, walking paths, and food service were all absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have incredible views of the ocean, but ground floors have walk out patios, some wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My trip here was a business conference, otherewise my typical stay is at a Holiday Inn, Hilton, etc. Because of that, I usually feel out of place at these resorts, but I never felt that way here. All of the employees are very pleasant, and the guests all seemed to be nice people to meet.

My room was in the hotel, on the second floor, with an ocean view. It was a nice room, spacious enough, very large bathroom, comfortable bed, and large patio. The golf course is very, very nice- much better than you would ever expect when you hear of a par three course.

As I said, spending $300/night or whatever this resort costs isn't usually my type of trip, but for those who do, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,747 reviews
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,028 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $364 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing