We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The physical property is beautiful ... but the service is significantly lacking. I arrived late on a Saturday evening and waited quite a while at registration, waited quite awhile for a shuttle to take me to my cabana, waited quite a while for room service to be delivered ... you get the idea. I was at the hotel for four days, and changed rooms because the cabana was so off the beaten path. Although I thought the staff was exceedingly poorly trained and managed, I did find the food to be excellent and the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The spa and gym are very nice, too.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room facing the ocean in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AYellowWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear AYellowWood,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that the service you received while visiting Terranea was lacking in any manner. We would like the opportunity to hear more about your experience and learn from your feedback. Could you please email your contact information to us, so that we can reach out to you directly? Our email address is terraneasocial@destinationhotels.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,824 - 2,830 of 3,604 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Along with 280 other family members and friends who came from different continents throughout the world we celebrated my brother's wedding at the beautiful Terranea on September 15,2012. Over half of us decided to make it a weekend getaway and we all lodged at the Terranea. The Terranea is top notch and I would rate it 10 stars if I could. The rooms are clean, well stocked and very comfortable. Several of us had massages at the SPA and used the SPA facilities. They were excellent. We also used the salon services to get our hair done for the wedding. The staff were professional and did a great job. The beds and bedding are of excellent quality and we all commented on how comfortable we all slept.
On Saturday, September 15, 2012 we celebrated the wedding of my brother. The quality of the food, the excellent service made it for a wonderful wedding experience. We all felt like kings and queens at the Terranea. On Sunday morning, after the wedding several of us decided we wanted to spend more time at the pool so we asked for a late check out. It was granted without any problems. This is excellent customer service.
We look forward to the next event being hosted at the Terranea. Thanks to all the Terranea staff for making this special social event and weekend one that no one will ever forget.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usclcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Breathtaking views. Sunset view at Nelson's is awesome. Food at Mar'sel was divine. SPa services are pricey, but free fitness classes at the Fitness center (Yoga and Latin dance) were fun. Sea Beans was great for a sandwiches, baked goods, coffee, and some souvenirs. Conceirge helped me arrange a day trip to Catalina Island that was great. Walked the trail to the Lighthouse, couldn't believe I could walk down to the ocean at Pescadero Trail. Fine for a solo adult, but not for children, seemed a bit dangerous and I was seriously winded on the climb back up (and I consider myself in decent shape with regular strength training!). Overall the location is simply amazing and I would not hesitate to return or recommend to others!

Room Tip: Stayed in a Casita - view with privacy. Bungalows might be noisy with business events entertaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a night for a conference.

Beautiful view of the ocean and cliffs from my room, Spanish style architecture and bungalows on offer.

Good place for a conference, especially if you play golf. Newer property and it is tastefully done on the inside and out.

Great running trail along the cliff tops next to the Pacific. Really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcrafte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Terranea continues to be a wonderful place for a brief getaway. Gorgeous location, made even better by perfect weather. Great food, and an upgrade to a Casita made it really special......again.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear jobar_11,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a great weekend at one of my favorite new hotels. I live in Beverly Hills area this drove took 40 minutes. Terranea is a huge piece of land on the coast of Palos Verdes California includes hotel, casitas, homes, and the Trump Golf Course. The grounds have 3 pools with waterslide for the kids. One of the pools was 21 and older which was alot more peaceful and closer to the beach. The Spa Cafe had lots of healthy food and smoothies for the daytime. The treatments were amazing so clean with a great view of the ocean. Very private! We grubbed at Nelsons which was somewhat a sports bar smelled a bit fishy but had some decent prices for a hotel food. Also room service was 24hrs on select items lots of desserts. If you want great pictures of the coastline with lots of trials, wild cats, and great sunsets this is the place. Also bike rentals, paddleboarding.... but the ocean has lots of rocks with no sand you would have to go up the coast 5 minutes from there to find sandy beaches

Room Tip: ocean view recommended highly pay the extra $50 a night. Bottom floor had easier access to wander ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This resort is beautiful. I live in California, yet I felt far, far away. The minute you arrive it is fabulous. The view from the lobby is spectacular. Reception was efficient and friendly. Our room was lovely, comfortable and clean with a beautiful view. The main pool looked loud and and full of rambunctious children. They looked like they were having a great time, but we wanted quiet so we could chat and relax. So, since we had spa treatments, which were lovely, we were able to take advantage of the spa pool. The spa pool is quiet, with beautiful views and servers to bring you anything off the healthy spa menu. There are beautiful hiking trails all around. Nelsons, the casual restaurant has amazing fish tacos, the best views, and delicious cocktails. Go for sunset, have a couple cocktails, and walk back to your room. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
47 reviews
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,676 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
995 reviews
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $332 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing