We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rest and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is a "resort", meaning you will enjoy it the most if you stay within the resort. It is about 30 minutes from LAX and it feels it is in the middle of upper class nowhere. Some people will not like this, but we enjoyed the seclusion. Within a mile though, there are places like Trader Joe's, Starbucks, a bakery, and a nice and neat convenience/small grocery store (Fresh & Easy?). I got my breakfast at these stores.

The hotel feels new and fresh, five-star quality without the neat but useless five-star knick-knacks. The room is spacious, the bathroom is excellent. Service was first class. A few days before checkin, I got an email from them, asking if we want transportation from the airport, fridge filled with groceries, etc. What a nice touch, not that we need it. At checkin, we are offered complementary bottled water. They also supply bottled water in the room every morning. It puzzles me, though, that there is another bottled water in the room by the table with $8 label. Really? We were offered a complementary upgrade to an ocean-view room, which is very nice. Upon entry, though, the carpet was damp as if it was just been shampooed. It is nice to know they steamed it, but it takes one night to completely dry.

Self-parking can be a hassle. Like I said earlier, this is a resort, park your car and forget about it. The location is a bit far from the lobby. There is a stair access with key card closer to the lot, this is what we used daily to get to/from our car. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. The lot is packed and was a bit hard to find parking. The lot is shared with the day-only guests/members playing golf, etc., and for the villa residents to do activities in the main hotel. Later in the evening, the lot is more reasonable. In my opinion, parking should be free, not $20.

The food here is very good and the price is very reasonable. We ate at Bashi, the asian fusion restaurant. We also got coffee and gelato ice cream at the Deli.

Now I mentioned the hotel being a resort, and you should enjoy the property. However, after a day or so, you will be running out of things to do. I don't play golf, and while the swimming pool and the hot tub is nice, I can't stay there too long. One big drawback is the lack of a beach. There is a rocky tide pool, but it is not the same. Within 15 minutes upon arrival, we were on our swimsuit, and asked the same question, where is the beach? There are other activities like guided bike tour, kayaking, etc., but they are pricy. $99 for biking, really? It would be nice if they have rental or free resort bikes.

To our consolation, Hermosa and Manhattan beach is about 15 minutes drive and they are very nice. Even better, they have miles and miles of bike path along the beaches. Bike rental is like $7/hour. Terranea will not provide beach towels to be used outside, however, which is too bad. Luckily we packed our own beach towel. At the local beaches, there are also plenty of places that rent umbrellas, beach chair, etc.

My "value" rating will be 5 if they provide free parking and beach towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Santa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    473
    205
    101
    102
See reviews for
767
902
59
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lovely reception area and a glass of champagne on arrival, and we thought this is it, perfect for a few days at the end of our road trip. Unfortunately, there was a mix up on rooms - we were given a one bed room rather than the 2 queen beds booked - and it took two and a half hours to sort out. The receptionists just seemed incapable of liaising and resolving the problem during a busy time.

That aside, this is a fabulous place. The room had a great ocean view, was bright and light, spacious with lovely comfortable furnishings. The guest and pool areas, spa and gym were all of the highest quality and everything is kept meticulously clean and well-maintained.

Food is first-class. Nelsons is an ocean-side bar/casual dining venue but the food is very good quality, as it is in the coffee shop - which is very good for breakfast/lunch/snacks. We loved toasting smores over one of the many open fires in the evening with our daughter. For variety, there are good take-aways and restaurants a short drive away. Anaheim is also an easy hours drive away for Disney and the Angels ball park. Manhatten Beach and Seal Beach, both about 30 mins drive in either direction along the coast, are worth a visit.

As lovely as the hotel and grounds are, the staff really make the place. Despite the unfortunate check-in, we found the service excellent and the best experienced on our raod trip - everyone was friendly, cheerful and could not do enough to help : special mention here for the excellent concierge desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a three year old property in what's called the South Bay area of Los Angeles, which is relatively close to LAX and downtown, but feels off the beaten path. You would need a car to explore from here. The setting is beautiful, with some walking trails and overlooks over the rocky coast. If you are looking for wide sand beaches, book somewhere else. The property is hilly, with casitas and villas spread out toward the top, the main hotel and pool in the middle, and a spa/spa pool and a restaurant towards the bottom (seaside). My room (in a casita) was very nice; not the quietest, but very pretty.

Overall, I enjoyed the visit, but would not rate this at the top due to service lapses. Mainly, service was slow or confused too many times. Examples: valet took my car at check in, rather than waiting to see what room I had (casitas have parking in front), then took 20 min to retrieve; Nelsons restaurant too slow; very large spa pool nearly empty because only spa guests can use. Staff are friendly and usually helpful, but too often a little confused.

Botton line-beautiful property, would stay here again, but doesn't quite hit the Four Seasons level of service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi roadwarrierMD,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of Terranea! We are so sorry to hear that our service was not absolutely perfect. We will be discussing the issues you encountered with all staff and will use these comments to improve. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the property and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spectacular venue. Breathtaking views and wonderful place for vacation or a special event.my daughter's wedding was here and it was awesome. I would highly recommend this resort
Even got to se dolphins and whales while I was here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi mel1953,
Thank you for your review! We would like to extend our congratulations and warmest wishes to your daughter and her new marriage! We are delighted that you choose Terranea as a part of that very special day and we hope you will visit us often. The dolphins and whales will be awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

From our arrival until we left, Terranea Resort made our stay Fantastic. The check-in, lobby, parking and service in the restaurants all were very very good. Breakfast was one of the best we ever had. Sunday brunch was so beautiful and complete! The Pools and views (including dolphins in the sea in front of our room) are all beautiful and well-taken-care-off. Our room (upgraded to a seaview suite) was more than perfect with a beautiful bathroom. Overall, our stay in Terranea could not have been better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Terranea and we again had a wonderful time. This was a repeat business meeting trip that because of this resort, we brought the whole family. The pool area is fun and welcoming for our kids. Food by the poolside and room service was great. Comfortable beds in a luxurious setting. Though we did not splurge for an ocean view room because we rented 2 rooms for our family, there are enough areas in the hotel to appreciate the beautiful views. The 2 adjoining rooms have a common hallway that can be shared and can be more affordable than the price of 1 suite so consider this instead - kids loved it.

Only negative is that front desk/check-in can have long waits at times, but otherwise service is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandS_Norcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights after flying in from Sydney. Absolutely divine stopover for rest and relaxation.
On arrival, we were upgraded to a stunning ocean view suite, magnificent and very comfortable king bed with exquisite bathroom. The service in every respect was excellent from start to finish. Tried a few of the restaurants, all excellent. The breakfast buffet is to die for! Spa is very good also. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer. My perfect stopover in LA away from the traffic after a long flight from Oz.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank findarainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing