We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a beautiful and luxury resort at the Pacific coast. Laying on the gentle hills are the hotel, cottages and the golf course. The cliffs are on the seaside. A long winding walkway goes along the cliffs. Catalina Island can be seen from the property. One of the mornings, I saw a dauphin off the coast one morning.

I stayed in a cottage with a room facing ocean. The room isn't big, but decent. The decor is nice. The bathroom is also nice too. There is also a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. I stayed outside and enjoyed the sunset. The cottage is Spanish with colorful tiles.

The golf course is nice. While playing, you can enjoy the scenery.

It's very relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Lunch at Nelson isn't expensive. The view is million dollar while you pay only modest price for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I travel a lot for business. This is by far one of the best resorts/hotels I've ever stayed at. Great views of the ocean, friendly and knowledgeable staff, great location (30min south of LAX)/restaurants (I particularly liked CatalinaKitchen)/ overall awesome experience. I attended on business but will definitely stay her again when on personal vacation.

Room Tip: villas next to main hotel are extremely nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hi Michael,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear you had a positive experience and we hope you will be able to take a fun and work-free “personal vacation” soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to Terranea, which is only 1 hour from our home in Los Angeles. Once we got to our gorgeous, spacious 3 bedroom "casita" and looked at out at beautiful Catalina Island we felt like we had been transported to an island in the Mexican Pacific 2000 miles away. Every inch of the resort is ocean-view. The thought that there is no need to take a plane flight to feel like you've gotten away was such a treat. The resort has 3 pools (Family, Spa and Adult Only), a great spa, the best 9-hole 3-par golf course I have ever played, and much, much more. Lots of activities. Bring bikes if you are driving. The staff was super accommodating, and wanted to do all they can to please us. The resort features hotel rooms, casitas, bungalows and villas. This is a great family spot and probably good for couples who want to hang at the adult pool. (We went with 7 adults and 13 kids. We had 2 casitas side by side with total of 7 bedrooms.) There are also a number of restaurants on the property. Nelsons had a live band. Dont miss the miles of walking trails along the coast. Its one big nature preserve. Enough said. Check this place out!

Room Tip: The casita we had was 3 large bedrooms and a huge kitchen and living room. Its like a luxury condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russelldevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here back in December of 2011 for a leadership development program through work and it was amazing! The property was immaculate, and all the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The grounds are just beautiful- the first day while eating lunch outside we saw the largest pod of dolphins I've ever seen off the coast. There were also some really neat caves in the area- you must check them out but check the tides!

I had a single room with a balcony that overlooked one of the pools and the ocean- gorgeous site to wake up to every day. I would definitely recommend an ocean facing view if you can get it. We had breakout session in the villas which were also very nice. I really don't think you could go wrong at this property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Since its opening my husband and I have been to Terranea many, many times. We just fell in Love with this incredible place!! The space, the beauty. The land, the sea. This is our top favorite place EVER. We stll are in awe of the the vistas, the sea, the pelicans, dolphins, whales, plants, hummingbirds, people, food, spa and rocks. Ahhhh.... Best for us is Mar'sel at the bar for dinner.
Early am Seabeans for coffee. A Spa day begins with the long walk by the Ocean. Listening to the sea. Enjoying waters in all its forms. End the day at Nelson's. An incredible space. A must come and discover it for yourself!!

Room Tip: Each face has its pros and cons. West is quieter especially in summer- not facing the pool. South ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hi dziran,
Thank you for your review! We love to hear that you are able to enjoy Terranea and the land surrounding the resort on a regular basis! If you are planning to visit soon, mar’sel is currently participating in dineLA with an additional special menu. Just a tip in case you would like to check that out. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Oh my gosh! We live nearby and took advantage of a groupon coupon to stay here. It was absolutely lovely. We had a room with 2 double beds and took our 2 older grandkids ( 6 and 5). We enjoyed the pool--it was a cool day and we were not "green"--we used too many towels. But the staff was very accommodating. And we had a glass of wine by the pool and they did a NICE pour. Nothing worse then spending $10 for a half glass of wine! No so here! We faced the north side. Ask for a room overlooking the pool. That is a better view. Ours was still ok; but the pool side is better. We had dinner at Catalina Kitchen. Our daughter met us there with her 2 other boys. Yikes! 4 boys 6 and under for dinner. Well, the hotel staff was great! i think we got a few dark glances from other diners, but that is life. Have to enjoy the kids. It was a casual setting, so deal! I went to the on site market (don't remember the name) and bought the best bagged popcorn ever. The boys gobbled it up! The next morning we had room service which was delicious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in room with 2 double beds with kids. View was amazing like the rest of the resort. Felt very welcome. Restaurants, pool, amenities are fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,654 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
47 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
153 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $400 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing