We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We absolutely loved this resort. We were in town for a wedding taking place at another location. While we only stayed for a few days, we were happy with the room and the service. The views are beautiful (on a sunny day). And the nature walk/hike to the beach and around the property is a lot of fun for kids. We even saw some whales in the ocean. It can be a great family resort, as well as, a great place for couples. It is on my "visit again" list.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,976
    519
    220
    115
    113
See reviews for
842
983
68
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was an unexpected find and quite a pleasure. I was traveling on business and stayed here as a convenient location in between. What a find. Stunning location and first class all the way around. Rooms fantastic. Work out facility top notch. Spa on site (not my thing but looked first class). A few pools (one is Spa only though so keep that in mind as it looked great but you can't use it even if you are a hotel guest - having said that the guest pool was equally remarkable). A few bars and restaurants on site that were all solid. Take your spouse here for a weekend. The romance will be back in no time, I assure you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place is a true gem! The pictures I've seen of this property pale in comparison to my overall experience. I would go back here in a heartbeat! I have absolutely NO complaints about this beautiful property! The landscape is just gorgeous and the view of the Ocean is just heavenly. We traveled with our 9 month old and 2.6 year old and both boys had a wonderful time. We traveled from Tucson, AZ, which was about a 1.5 hour flight. From the airport to the resort took about 20 minutes. I tried to come prepared with things to keep my kiddos busy, but we were busy enough with all the resort offers. We played in the sand, sat/swam in the pool, walked around the property, did some whale watching...and the list goes on.
I absolutely loved the on-site cafe, which stays open until 8pm and has everything from breakfast wraps, fresh salads, grilled cheese sandwiches, lattes to baby wipes, sun block, diapers.
We took the free shuttle (which takes you within 5 miles of the property in any direction) a couple of times to go to the outdoor shopping mall and dinner.
In our room, we had a fridge, which is very nice when you have little ones.
Next time we go, I'd love to rent a casita. This place was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connectict
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our grown kids are scattered near and far, but when we found a weekend we could all get together, we chose Terranea, for it's proximity to Los Angeles, where our son lives. We would have been happy just to have spent the long weekend together anywhere, but Terranea surpassed our expectation in spades! We booked a three-bedroom villa, which had tons of space, and a great kitchen, where we fixed lunches and dinners, to eat on our patio (with private hot-tub), overlooking the golfcourse, and the sea. The pools were beautiful, the gym was great, and some of us even hit the morning yoga classes, and indulged in some spa treatments. We loved the restaurants, and enjoyed our fancy delicious dinner at mar'sel, sundowners at Nelsons (great drinks around big fire pits). We took long jogs/walks/runs on the miles of cliffside trails, and watched pods of dolphins frolicking in the gorgeous water. At night we curled up beside our outdoor fireplace and chatted while drinking great wine. The staff was wonderful, our unit was immaculate, and serviced several times a day. At the end of the weekend, we were plotting our return. The Terranea is a wonderful choice for families of all ages. The icing on the cake? Numerous and thoughtful efforts of sustainability and eco-consciousness.

Room Tip: Definitely look into booking one of the villas or bungalows if you are more than a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The pictures on the website and Trip Advisor don't do justice to the beauty of this place. The resort is located in an area not too far away from LA yet it manages to be the exact opposite of the chaos that is LA.

We travelled with another family and had a total of 3 small kids (ages 1, 3, and 6). The only suggestion I would make is to provide some more family-friendly activities during the cooler months since the pool is too cold (even though it's supposed to be heated).

We stayed in a casita and it had every amenity one could ask for including a fully furnished kitchen and laundry facilities. Trader Joes is within a mile and the resort provides a shuttle to take you there, pick up some groceries and prepare some meals "at home" which can be very helpful with younger kids around.

While there are nice restaurants on site, we found the service to be slow which would be nice if you only had adults in the party- not so much with kids.

Service in the hotel was genuine, friendly, and attentive. All in all - this was a wonderful getaway and we can see ourselves coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The title really sums it up: Wow. The whole property is beautiful to begin with, then you add the fact that you overlook an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. It really doesn't get any better as far as an all inclusive location, and you feel like you're on a true vacation here where you don't want to leave. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. The bathroom is very nice with plenty of counter space, a separate frosted door for the toilet, a bathtub, and nice amenities. If you are within a travelling budget, this won't be for you, but if you can splurge, this is the place to do it (If you can get a deal here, book it right away like we did!). We even picked the cheapest room available and it was extremely nice and exceeded our expectations. There are plenty of pools to choose from, including a slide.

I reallly don't have to go in detail on this review because the location and photos really do speak for itself. Yes, it can be pricey, but if there is a promotion or special rate you can take advantage of, I highly suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesInLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went for an overnight with my wife. We are from San Diego, so the trip was about 2 hours to get there. We arrived at about 1:00 and our room wasn't ready, so we headed up the coast and ate a late lunch in Manhattan Beach. While we were eating, we got a call from the resort stating that our room was ready.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the valet very promptly, and after that every employee we encountered really made us feel at home. When you asked where something was, any employee would take you there, not just point it out. My wife dropped her jacket and no fewer that 4 employees came over to pick it up and give it to her. Have not had better service than this at any resort/hotel we've stayed at (including Ritz Carlton, St. Regis or Four Seasons).

The room was fine; not great, but nice. We had a nice ocean view looking south (the resort is on a penninsula). Ate at Catalina which was great. Also had a drink at Nelson. The weather was very stormy when we were there, and the veiws would have been much better had the sky been clear.

I would highly recommend this resort. Not too snooty; just the perfect mixture of casual and upscale.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,013 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing