We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terranea Resort
Nearby Hotels
Americas Best Value Inn(Rancho Palos Verdes)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Royal Inn(Lomita)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$94
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Redondo Inn and Suites(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,855)
Filter reviews
3,855 results
Traveler rating
2,542
708
305
159
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,542
708
305
159
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolcatalina islandocean viewcatalina kitchenfamily poolbeautiful propertymain poolbusiness conferencesouthern californiathe main hotellobby barlos angelesfire pitfitness centerfour seasonsfamily vacationsea beans
Filter
Updating list...
3,270 - 3,275 of 3,855 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times from right after it opened to this past Thanksgiving. We stayed in different locations each time -- in connecting rooms at the hotel's main building, in a casita and in an ocean front bungalow. Each has its charm and served its purpose though I loved the ocean front bungalow the best. The rooms at the hotel were beautiful with amazing views and were great for a short stay, but the casitas and bungalows have all the amenities a family cold want when staying for a longer amount of time. The kitchens are huge and full of everything you need (great for breakfasts!) and the laundry facilities in a huge walk-in closet off the kitchen make packing a snap. The living room is bright an airy and the terraces (either garden level or second story) are private and filled with enough tables and chairs for everyone.

Two of my favorite features are 1) the self-parking and 2) the coffee shop at the circle in front of the main hotel. There is a huge amount of choice in breakfast pastries, beverages, sandwiches, sales and chocolate treats. I just wish they had picnic baskets to go!

Terranea is a favorite place to stay when visiting our family in LA. It is 5 star luxury but very laid back without any pretension. A great and easy place to stay with young kids.

Room Tip: There is a huge range of choice and multiple price points. The bungalows and casitas are wonderful but might be overkill unless you are staying for longer than just a few days.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davinci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was here for a 3 day meeting. The positives were that the staff were friendly and efficient, the setting stunning, the food excellent, and the room comfortable and with a great view. Had I been here on vacation, despite the delightful balcony, I would have felt that my room was too small. I also feel that the charge for the bottle of water in the room is really not necessary - it seemed a little too nickel and diming. Ideal for a romantic weekend, but quite remote from everywhere - once you are on the resort you are unlikely to leave

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Terranea Resort is amazing. We stayed in a "Casita" suite, which was a one-bedroom suite with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The suite lacked nothing...it had a gorgeous bedroom and living room, both with ocean views. The kitchen was huge and included everything a person could want in a kitchen (full-size refrigerator, oven, stovetop, microwave, dishwasher, cooking and eating utensils..even wine glasses! The bathroom was huge and featured a separate toilet area, a large bathtub and a separate shower. Outside the front door was a cozy sitting area and outside the living room, there was a patio area for outside dining, with an ocean view!
The resort offers wonderful restaurants, pools and a spa.
There are hiking trails along the bluff so one can view the beautiful ocean and Catalina Island, plus whales, dolphins and sea lions. And the sunsets are gorgeous!
We booked our two day stay using a Groupon, so we got a really good deal! I definitely hope to return soon.
If you go, be sure to visit the Wayfarer's Chapel, just a couple miles south of the resort. It's a glass church designed by Lloyd Wright and is really amazing.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room. You'll love it!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel has breath-taking views, great food, even better service! Highly recommend! They upgraded our room to an ocean view and offered us a late checkout on the day we were leaving. It's a great place for families (lots to explore), but we went for a romantic weekend away. We met several other couples, like us, who live in Southern California but wanted a weekend in paradise. The pool, hot tub, pool restaurant kept us busy for the afternoon, and we enjoyed late night drinks on the lobby terrace with our own firepit. Hands down the best hotel shower too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaylorCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Its hard to believe this beautiful seaside resort is less than an hour outside of LA. We were stunned by the cliffside views of the Pacific as this lovely resort is located on a small peninsula jutting into tlhe ocean. The staff was friendly,competent, and efficient. All you had to do was ask and they woud do their best to accomodate. We ate in their restaurants as we were too lazy to venture outside of the resort. The food was fine for a resort and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the pool,spa,and the cliffside hiking was spectacular. It was a perfect ending to a week in crazy LA. They have several tiers of rooming and we chose the bungalow with 2 bedrooms. It was well worth the expense. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobrawillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews