We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous~you need to see it to believe it!"”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Being natives of Southern California and moving away we knew that we wanted to spend our 25th wedding anniversary in S. Cal. along the beach. We feel as though we struck gold finding the Terranea Resort. From the moment we arrived to when we left it was wonderful. We parked our car and never left the resort, It truely is a destination all its own. The property is beautiful and you don't even realize that you are in L.A. We loved the restuarants and the pools, and the walking trail that goes along the beach. We loved Terranea so much that we may go back in Octorber to renew our vows. Thank you Terranae for making our stay special we look forward to coming back again...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debtroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,128 - 3,134 of 3,501 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed here with some friends and it was SO overcrowded. There were people everywhere you turned. I felt like I was in a human zoo. The property itself is very nice, with superb views of the ocean. It also has great facilities, with a beautiful spa and 3 pools to choose from.
The service of the hotel was terrible. I asked for a set of cutlery that require 3 chase up calls to arrive. It only came after 3.5 hours. Ridiculous.
Also if your key gets de-magnetized, depending on the location of your room, it can be a VERY long walk to the reception to get a new key. The receptionists were rather rude as well when I had to get a new key made. She made it sound like she was doing ME a favour by giving me an extra key.
I will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alondongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you expected. In the high demand summer months, the resort tends to get crowded at the pools and restaurants. Please know that we are addressing the issue of the front desk associate's attitude and apologize for any inconvenience the demagnetized key may have caused. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. This helps us tremendously as we continue to train and retrain our staff to maintain a high level of service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My family stayed in a suite overlooking the pool and ocean. We had a King bed plus two roll away beds. We also brought an Aero Bed for our toddler. Plenty of room for all. Two bathrooms was really nice. The views were the best from any resort ever. The service was excellent. We enjoyed the pool, rocky beach, Nelson's restaurant, Sea Beans cafe, and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lispipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This s a great resort if you like screaming kids and dogs. Seriously, dogs in the hotel lobby bar? The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Housekeeping could do a better job tidying up, and Nelson's looks like it hasn't had a deep cleaning in years. Mar'sel was a fantastic experience - service and food was top notch! A couple of bar tenders, Edens and Cody, had great personalities, and were a lot of fun. Jayson, on the other hand acted as if he did not want to be there. His service was so awful that we just walked away and headed to another location on property. And finally, if you like the spa, this resort will not disappoint. Be sure to try one of their signature treatments. My favorite is the Power of Stone. Ask for Lorena - she's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We visited for our 10 year anniversary with our 2 year old. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted very warmly by everyone. We were escorted to our room, which was a bungalow. SO worth it. The best part was the patio... almost all of our meals were room service so enjoy the outdoor fireplace and fabulous ocean view.

The grounds are gorgeous. There are countless tropical flowers throughout the many walking paths and look out points. We renewed our vows at the beach area, it was a wonderful spot for our little ceremony of 3 and a family photo shoot!

Tip - Parking is $30 for valet and $20 for self, nice to know in advance for your budget! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We went for a short weekend getaway and had a very nice and relaxing time. The property is located in a gorgeous spot and has some beautiful oceanfront views. Pros - lovely property, nice spa and spa pool, great gym, lots of walking trails, Nelson's restaurant. Main pool looks nice if you have small kids. Cons - the property is spread out and there's only one elevator bank in the main building which makes it inconvenient going back and forth to the room. We didn't mind so much but this would not be a good place for anyone who has trouble getting around. However, there are lots of employees with electric carts. We would definitely come here again for another local weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The whole experience was very nice and I would go again. The only thing that was a little weird, was they're not giving us an extra blanket when we called housekeeping; they said they didn't have anymore....more like "we don't trust that our guests won't steal the blankets" - for over $300 per night...that's a bit stingy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpaShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,599 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,190 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $383 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing